Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

Several Wisconsin Holstein members win national awards

Several Wisconsin Holstein members win national awards
New York annual convention had several from the Dairy State recognized for their work.

Wisconsin Holstein members won a number of awards at the National Holstein Convention Awards Banquet held July 1 in Saratoga Springs, N.Y.

Distinguished Young Breeder

Fond du Lac County dairyman Joe Loehr of Mount Calvary was named the 2016 National Distinguished Young Holstein Breeder.

Loehr and his wife Gina farm in partnership with Joe's parents Norman and Rosie and two of his brothers, Mark and Dan, at Loehr Dairy, LLC. Joe is dedicated to progressing his family's farm while being actively involved in his community and developing a solid herd of registered Holsteins.

The National Holstein Convention was held June 27-July 1 in Saratoga Springs, N.Y.

The Loehr family milks 400 registered Holstein cows with the prefix "Holyland."  The Loehrs currently have a rolling herd average of 26,613 pounds of milk with 1,057 pounds of fat and 879 pounds of protein on three times a day milking.

Joe and Gina are the parents of five children -- Sophia, 8; Isaac, 6; Lucia, 5; Gianna, 3; and Anthony, 1.

Distinguished Junior Members

Four of the six 2016 National Distinguished Junior Members are from Wisconsin. The Distinguished Junior Member recognition is the highest honor a Holstein Association USA Junior member can receive. The finalists receive annual renewed memberships to Holstein USA.

This year's winners from Wisconsin are: Matthew Kramer of Fond du Lac County; Nicole Pralle, of Clark County; Elizabeth Sarbacker, of Dane County and Jordan Siemers, of Manitowoc County.

The Distinguished Junior Member award honors Junior Holstein members, ages 17 to 21, who have excelled in their junior project work, involvement on their farm and in their communities.

YDJM winners

Kalista Hodorff and Kaianne Hodorff, both of Fond du Lac County, Hannah Nelson of Pierce County and Kylie Nickels of Dodge County were four of eight members selected as 2016 National Young Distinguished Junior Member Finalists.

The Young Distinguished Junior Member award recognizes 9-16 year olds for their accomplishments working with Holsteins, achievements and leadership in Holstein activities, as well as school and community involvement.

Scholarship winners

The National Holstein Women's Scholarship Organization presented a total of $8,000 in scholarships to three Junior Holstein members, including two from Wisconsin. Wisconsin winners are Charlie Hamilton of Grant County and Elizabeth Endres of Dane County.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.