Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: KS

Sebelius Asks Disaster Declaration for Ellsworth County

Governor cites storm damage.

Gov. Kathleen Sebelius has requested an agricultural disaster area declaration for Ellsworth County because of excessive rain, flash flooding, hail and tornadoes between March and June.

"Weather events have impacted wheat, corn and soybean production to the extent that Ellsworth County meets the criteria to be declared a disaster area," Sebelius said. "A disaster declaration will ensure Kansas farmers are eligible to seek aid should they need it."

A secretarial disaster designation from U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Ed Schafer will make farmers and ranchers eligible for low-interest loans, plus any aid that may be available under the permanent disaster program in the recently passed farm bill.

Sebelius earlier requested disaster declarations for Allen, Graham, Hodgeman and Rooks counties.

TAGS: Soybeans
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.