Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: West
SD Corn Growers Elect New Officers

SD Corn Growers Elect New Officers

Mark Gross, Keith Alverson and Kurt Stiefvater will lead the commodity group in 2012.

The South Dakota Corn Growers Association (SDCGA) recently elected Mark Gross, Bridgewater; president; Keith Alverson, Chester, vice-president; and Kurt Stiefvater, Salem, secretary treasurer of the organization.

Gross, a fourth-generation farmer, has served on the SDCGA board since 2007. He also is a member of the South Dakota Corn Utilization Council's board of directors. He serves as vice-chairman of the South Dakota Value-Added Finance Authority Board, is past president of the Bridgewater Farmers Union Co-op and serves as a township clerk. He is a seed advisor for Golden Harvest Seeds and the owner of the Seed Mill in Bridgewater.

Alverson, a sixth-generation farmer, serves as a member of the National Corn Growers Association Corn Board and is past chairman of the NCGA's Ethanol Committee. He served three years on the South Dakota Corn Utilization Council board of directors, including two years as vice president.

Stiefvater has served on the SDCGA board since January of 2005 and represents the SDCGA on the Ag United board. He also serves as Richland Township supervisor, and is chairman of the South Dakota Center for Farm/Ranch Management at Mitchell Vo-Tec.

Source: SDCGA

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.