is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist
Peterson Announces Ag Subcommittee Members

Peterson Announces Ag Subcommittee Members

Members are selected for five ag subcommittees within House Agriculture Committee

U.S. House Agriculture Committee Ranking Member Collin C. Peterson, D-Minn., Tuesday announced the Democratic Ranking Members and Subcommittee membership for the Agriculture Committee's five subcommittees.

Peterson will serve as an ex officio member of all subcommittees.

Subcommittee on Conservation, Energy and Forestry

Jurisdiction: Soil, water, and resource conservation, small watershed program, energy and biobased energy production, rural electrification, forestry in general and forest reserves other than those created from the public domain.

Members are selected for five ag subcommittees within House Agriculture Committee

Ranking Member Tim Walz (MN-1), Gloria Negrete McLeod (CA-35), Ann Kuster (NH-2), Rick Nolan (MN-8), Mike McIntyre (NC-7), Kurt Schrader (OR-5), Suzan DelBene (WA-1).

Subcommittee on Department Operations, Oversight and Nutrition

Jurisdiction: Agency oversight, review and analysis, special investigations, food stamps, nutrition and consumer programs.

Ranking Member Marcia Fudge (OH-11), Jim McGovern (MA-2), Michelle Lujan Grisham (NM-1), Gloria Negrete McLeod (CA-35), one vacancy

Subcommittee on General Farm Commodities and Risk Management

Jurisdiction: Program and markets related to cotton, cottonseed, wheat, feed grains, soybeans, oilseeds, rice, dry beans, peas, lentils, the Commodity Credit Corporation, risk management, including crop insurance, commodity exchanges, and specialty crops.

Ranking Member David Scott (GA-13), Filemon Vela (TX-34), Pete Gallego (TX-23), Bill Enyart (IL-12), Juan Vargas (CA-51), Cherie Bustos (IL-17), Sean Patrick Maloney (NY-18), Tim Walz (MN-1), Gloria Negrete McLeod (CA-35), Jim Costa (CA-16), two vacancies.

Subcommittee on Horticulture, Research, Biotechnology and Foreign Agriculture

Jurisdiction: Fruits and vegetables, honey and bees, marketing and promotion orders, plant pesticides, quarantine, adulteration of seeds and insect pests, and organic agriculture, research, education and extension, biotechnology and foreign agriculture assistance, and trade promotion programs, generally.

Ranking Member Kurt Schrader (OR-5), Suzan DelBene (WA-1), Jim Costa (CA-16), Marcia Fudge (OH-11), Ann Kuster (NH-2), Juan Vargas (CA-51), Sean Patrick Maloney (NY-18).

Subcommittee on Livestock, Rural Development and Credit

Jurisdiction: Livestock, dairy, poultry, meat, seafood and seafood products, inspection, marketing, and promotion of such commodities, aquaculture, animal welfare and grazing, rural development, farm security and family farming matters, and agricultural credit.

Ranking Member Jim Costa (CA-16), Mike McIntyre (NC-7), David Scott (GA-13), Filemon Vela (TX-34), Michelle Lujan Grisham (NM-1), Pete Gallego (TX-23), Bill Enyart (IL-12), Cherie Bustos (IL-17), Kurt Schrader (OR-5), two vacancies.

TAGS: Soybean
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.