is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist

Nominations Sought For I-CASH Hall Of Fame Award

Iowa Center for Ag Safety & Health is looking for Iowans who've made significant contributions to health and safety.

Iowa's Center for Agricultural Safety and Health is accepting nominations for its sixth annual Agricultural Safety and Health Hall of Fame Award. The award recognizes Iowans who have made substantial and long-term contributions to the health and safety of the state's agricultural community.

The nomination deadline is July 1, 2007. All Iowans or organizations in the public or private sector are eligible for the award. Nominees should have contributed in a leadership role to agricultural safety and health prevention through promotion or awareness activities for five or more years. Areas of outstanding merit can include, but are not limited to, prevention, education, program evaluation, policy education, policy development and organizational infrastructures.

The recipient will receive a $100 cash award at a ceremony to be held during the Iowa State Fair in August.
Last year's award winner was Charlotte Halverson of Dubuque. Halverson is the rural health training coordinator at the National Educational Center for Ag Safety and Rural Health in Peosta, Iowa and parish health coordinator at Mercy Medical Center in Dubuque.

Criteria needs to be met to be eligible

Award entries must include: the nominator's and nominee's contact information; a one- to two-page statement from the nominator explaining why the nominee is an excellent candidate for the award and describing relevant contributions by the nominee; and two letters of recommendation from individuals familiar with the nominee's agricultural safety and health work. In addition, nominators are encouraged to include documentation that attests to the nominee's efforts, such as newspaper articles, newsletters, or other printed media or evidence of public recognition.

The judging panel will be a group of health and agricultural leaders with expertise in agricultural safety and health issues particular to Iowa.

Nomination forms and additional award information are available at, or contact Eileen Fisher, associate director of I-CASH, at 319-335-4224 or mail to:mailto:

To submit nomination entries, send materials to Fisher by e-mail at the address above or by fax at 319-335-4225 or by standard mail to: I-CASH Hall of Fame Award, Attn: Eileen Fisher, 100 Oakdale Campus 124 IREH, the University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA 52242-5000.

I-CASH is headquartered at the UI College of Public Health and is a joint venture of the UI, Iowa State University, the Iowa Department of Public Health, and the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship. The I-CASH motto is: "Helping Farmers Stay Alive and Well."

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.