Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

Nominations Sought by DATCP for Soybean Board

Nominations Sought by DATCP for Soybean Board
Nominations must be postmarked by July 6.

District 1 - Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Brown, Burnett, Chippewa, Door, Douglas, Dunn, Florence, Forest, Iron, Kewaunee, Langlade, Lincoln, Marathon, Marinette, Menominee, Oconto, Oneida, Outagamie, Polk, Portage, Price, Rusk, St. Croix, Sawyer, Shawano, Taylor, Vilas, Washburn, and Waupaca.

District 7 – Milwaukee and Racine.

Dennis Steigenberger of District 1 and Eugene Weis of District 7 have terms expiring August 31, 2011. Both of these board members are eligible to be re-nominated.

Nomination forms are available by contacting Noel Favia of DATCP at 608-224-5140 or 800-942-2774. Producers may nominate themselves or other qualified candidates.

A completed nomination form must include signatures of at least five eligible soybean producers other than the nominee. A notarized Affidavit of Eligibility, indicating that the affected producer meets the qualifications for nomination, must also accompany the submission of the nomination form. Completed nomination forms should be sent to: WI DATCP, Marketing Order Program, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708-8911.

DATCP will conduct the Wisconsin Soybean Board election from Aug. 1 – 17. Elected producers will begin Sept. 1and serve a three-year term.

Other current members of the Wisconsin Soybean Board are:

*District 2: Steve Stetzer (Buffalo, Clark, Eau Claire, Jackson, LaCrosse, Pepin, Pierce, Trempealeau, and Wood counties)

*District 3: Jeff Brandt (Adams, Crawford, Dane, Grant, Green, Iowa, Juneau, Lafayette, Monroe, Richland, Sauk, and Vernon counties)

*District 4: Keith Ripp (Calumet, Columbia, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Green Lake, Jefferson, Manitowoc, Marquette, Ozaukee, Sheboygan, Washington, Waukesha, Waushara, and Winnebago counties)

*District 5: Patrick Mullooly (Rock County)

*District 6: Mike Cerny (Kenosha and Walworth counties)

The Wisconsin Soybean Board represents some 18,000 soybean growers in the state. Its purpose is research, market development, national and international marketing, and education. In 2010, Wisconsin harvested 82.3 million bushels of soybeans valued at $938 million.

Source: DATCP

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.