is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist
Nominations Open for Wonders of Geography

Nominations Open for Wonders of Geography

Contest looks for 'wow' factor in Kansas locations.

The Kansas Sampler Foundation announced that the public may now submit nominations for the 8 Wonders of Kansas Geography through November.

The Geography contest is the sixth of eight rural culture elements featured in the series of 8 Wonders of Kansas contests by the Foundation.  In addition to the overall 8 Wonders of Kansas, the previous contests have showcased Architecture, Art, Commerce, Cuisine, and Customs.  History and People will follow Geography.

The Geography category will include anything to do with nature that is publicly accessible and possesses a "wow" factor and qualities that make it unlike any other place in Kansas or beyond.

Some general Geography examples would be a natural landmark, a federal reservoir or state lake, hiking or nature trails, trees, botanical gardens, arboretums or nature centers, scenic roads, etc.  Specific places must be nominated.

Those submitting nominations should be sure to provide a thorough description to clarify the qualities that set it apart.  Address or location, a contact person, and hours (if applicable) should also be included.

Cheyenne Bottoms and Quivira National Wildlife Refuge; Monument Rocks and Castle Rock in Gove County; and the Tallgrass Prairie National Preserve/Flint Hills are not eligible because they've already been selected as overall 8 Wonders of Kansas.  The Arikaree Breaks, Cheyenne County; Cimarron National Grassland, Morton County; Gyp Hills Scenic Drive, Barber County; and Lake Scott State Park, Scott County are automatic finalists for the Geography contest because they were finalists in the overall 8 Wonders of Kansas but did not make the top eight.

In early December the selection committee will meet to determine the 24 finalists and on January 7 the finalists will be announced and voting will begin.

Nominations may be submitted online at or by e-mailing or by sending written submissions to Kansas Sampler Foundation, 978 Arapaho Road, Inman, KS  67546.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.