Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: NE
Nominations Open for Positions on National Pork Board

Nominations Open for Positions on National Pork Board

Applications are now available and must be submitted by Dec. 1.

The National Pork Checkoff Board is accepting nominations to fill five, three-year terms as directors of the board. In addition, candidates are being sought for two open seats on the Board's Nominating Committee to serve two-year terms starting in 2012. Nominees may be submitted by state pork producer associations, farm organizations and anyone who pays the Pork Checkoff.


Any person who is a pork producer or importer and has paid all Checkoff assessments due, or is a representative of a producer/company that produces hogs/pigs, is eligible to serve on the National Pork Checkoff Board. The 15 positions on the Checkoff board are held by pork producers or importers who volunteer their time.

USDA sees the pursuit of diversity in Board membership as an opportunity for embracing new ideas that will enable the board to better serve its customers. The goal is to increase diversity through greater participation of persons with a variety of knowledge, skills, and abilities; diverse size and type of operation, diversity of perspectives and opinions, diversity of marketing strategies, diversity of methods of production and distribution, diversity of gender, ethnicity and other distinguishing factors.

Seats expiring July 2012 are currently held by:

  • Randy Brown, OH        Not Eligible for reelection
  •  Jan Miller, NE             Eligible for election to a 3-year term
  • Lisa Colby, MA            Eligible for reelection to a 3-year term
  • Brad Greenway, SD     Eligible for reelection to a 3-year term 
  • Dale Norton, MI           Eligible for reelection to a 3-year term

The Pork Checkoff Nominating Committee will solicit, interview, evaluate and recommend candidates to the Pork Act Delegate Body at the annual meeting March 1-3, 2012, in Denver, CO. A slate of eight producers will be elected and submitted to the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture who will appoint five producers to serve 3-year terms on the National Pork Checkoff Board.


The application deadline is Dec. 1. Please direct application requests and questions to the National Pork Checkoff Board either by mail to 1776 NW 114th St, Clive, IA 50325, by telephone to Teresa Wadsworth at 515-223-2612, or e-mail


The National Pork Checkoff Board consists of 15 members, each serving a maximum of two three-year terms. The Pork Act requires that no fewer than 12 states be represented by the 15 Pork Board members. At the time of election, these states will be represented by the board members whose positions on the board are not due for election: Illinois, Iowa, Oklahoma, Missouri, Minnesota, Kansas, Oregon, North Carolina, Georgia.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.