Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: IN

New, Young Leaders Serve Beef Cattle Group

New, Young Leaders Serve Beef Cattle Group
Board of directors under guidance of new executive director.

Faces have changed at the Indiana Beef Cattle Association. But those in charge insist that the organization will still move only one direction- forward.

The biggest change over the past several years came when Julia Wickard accepted the post of state director for the Indiana Farm Service Agency last summer. She still operates without a state committee of appointed producers who are supposed to guide her in making decisions on difficult cases. Reportedly, the feds in Washington D.C., have begun naming committees in various states, but at last word, a committee has not yet been named for Indiana. The previous committee in these politically-appointed positions left their posts some 15 months ago.

Replacing Wickard is Joe Moore, who was already on board at IBCA. He served as interim director for several months, then was named executive director recently. He begins his first full year in his new post with a new officer team and new faces on the Board of Directors.

The officers for this year for IBCA include Jason Tower, president, from Dubois County. He is superintendent of the Purdue research farm near Dubois. It specializes in pasture and forage-type research.

President-elect is Bob Bishop from Leesburg. Bob is one of the lynchpins that helps pull together the Hoosier Beef Congress each December. He also operates a large grain operation in Kosciusko County.

Joining them are Donnie Lawson, part of a two-brother farm operation near Thorntown, and Jim Lankford as treasurer. Lankford was named an Indiana Prairie Farmer and Purdue University College of Agriculture Master Farmer in 2007, the same year his operation was nearly wiped out by the huge June flood. Bishop also holds the distinction of Master Farmer. Lankford farms near Martinsville and contends with a considerable amount of low-lying land.

Other members of the executive committee are Clark Sennett, also a Master Farmer, Waynetown, Abby Nichols, Franklin, and Dave Smith, Greensburg.

Several new directors are also board members for IBCAS this year. They include Stacy Baird, Greencastle and Ryan Millett, Greenfield. Baird represents Area 5 in the IBCA hierarchy and Millett, an employee of Elanco Health, represents the service sector of the industry. The Board is made up of 10 directors plus representatives from diary, veal and allied industries.

To learn more, contact IBCA at 317-293-2333.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.