is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist
New Members Appointed To State Soil Committee

New Members Appointed To State Soil Committee

Iowa's State Soil Conservation Committee has three new members, appointed by Governor Terry Branstad. The 11-member committee provides leadership and policy guidance to help carry out the state's soil and water conservation programs.

Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Bill Northey last week welcomed Charles McCullough of Bernard, Harold Whipple of Lacona and Dr. Dale Farnham of Ames to the State Soil Conservation Committee.  McCullough, Whipple and Farnham were appointed by Governor Terry Branstad to serve six-year terms from May 1, 2011 to April 30, 2017.

"The State Soil Conservation Committee provides leadership and guidance to Iowa's soil conservation and water quality programs, to improve soil conservation and help protect water quality. These new members will play an important role in those efforts," says Northey.  "As a former Dickinson County Soil and Water Conservation District Commissioner, I understand the important role the state soil conservation committee plays in promoting conservation."

The state soil conservation committee is made of eleven members, which includes nine members appointed to staggered terms by the governor, and two ex-officio non-voting members. Of the nine members, six are farmers from different geographical regions of the state, one represents cities and towns, one serves on behalf of the mining industry, and one member is a tree farmer.

The three new members are from Bernard, Lacona and Ames

Ex-officio members are the director of the Iowa Department of Natural Resources and the dean of Iowa State University Extension. Representatives of USDA's Natural Resources Conservation Service, Conservation Districts of Iowa and the Iowa Association of County Engineers serve as advisors to the committee.

McCullough was reappointed and will continue in his position as the north-eastern Iowa farmer representative. McCullough is also a district commissioner, has farming interests and currently serves as a regional director for the Conservation Districts of Iowa organization. Whipple has been appointed to serve as the south-central farmer representative.  Whipple is farmer and a Warren County soil district commissioner. Farnham has been appointed to represent the cities and towns of Iowa.  Farnham lives in Ames and works for an insurance company in West Des Moines.

The State Soil Conservation Committee was created in 1939 as part of the Iowa Conservation Districts Law, establishing Iowa's 100 Soil and Water Conservation Districts. The board serves as a policy making board to the Iowa Department of Agriculture's Division of Soil Conservation, and makes budget recommendations annually. More information can be found at and clicking on the "Conservation" link on the top of the page.

TAGS: USDA Extension
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.