is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist
Nebraska Receives $7M for Flood Damage

Nebraska Receives $7M for Flood Damage

Funds will aid in road, bridge work after heavy 2010 flooding.

The U.S. Department of Transportation has awarded more than $7 million to the Nebraska Department of Roads to help repair roads and bridges damaged by heavy storms and flooding last summer.

"After getting a firsthand view of the flood damage last June and listening to people whose lives were directly affected, I'm glad Nebraskans will receive federal resources to help with the repair and rebuilding efforts," says Sen. Ben Nelson, D-Neb.

Following the severe storms and flooding in June 2010, state and federal officials toured communities along the Elkhorn River and met with Norfolk-area civic leaders, business owners and county officials to hear how they felt the federal government could best assist local recovery efforts.

"Extraordinary damage was done to homes, businesses, roads and bridges," he says.

The Emergency Relief (ER) program within the U.S. Department of Transportation was established for the repair or reconstruction of federal-aid roads and bridges that have suffered serious damage as a result of natural disasters or catastrophic failures from an external cause.

In June and July 2010, severe weather caused flooding damage to roadways that qualify for the ER program in the following Nebraska counties: Antelope, Blaine, Boone, Brown, Burt, Cedar, Cherry, Cheyenne, Colfax, Cuming, Dixon, Dodge, Garfield, Harlan, Holt, Knox, Lincoln, Madison, McPherson, Otoe, Platte, Sioux, Stanton, and Thomas.

The Nebraska Department of Roads will determine how the federal aid is divided among those counties.


Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.