is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist
Nebraska Corn Board Presents Awards

Nebraska Corn Board Presents Awards

Members pay tribute to those who promote the corn industry.

The Nebraska Corn Board presented awards to five Nebraskans during its Cooperator and Awards Dinner in Lincoln recently.

The recognition awards are the Nebraska Corn Board's way of paying tribute to representatives in the grain elevator, livestock, and ethanol industries, as well as awarding an individual in the media, and overall ag achievement, says Don Hutchens, board executive director.

Dale Hayek was announced as the Elevator Industry Appreciation Award recipient. Hayek is with Farmers Cooperative, headquartered in Dorchester. He was chosen for his proven leadership in explaining the benefits of the corn checkoff and its investments, as well as supporting Nebraska agriculture.

The Livestock Industry Appreciation Award was given to Prairieland Dairy of Firth, with Dan Rice present to accept the award. This award honored Prairieland Dairy for its recognition of the value of corn and corn co-products, the corn checkoff investment towards livestock programs, and consumer education of the importance of the livestock industry to the state.

The Ethanol Industry Appreciation Award was given to Chuck Woodside, CEO of KAAPA Ethanol, LLC, a farmer-owned ethanol plant in Minden, for his commitment to supporting Nebraska agriculture through the production of ethanol.

The Media Appreciation Award was awarded to Ken Anderson of the Brownfield Network, Lincoln, for his dedication to the corn industry and helping to tell agriculture's story.

The Ag Achievement Award honored someone who has carried the torch, not just this year, but for many years, according to Hutchens. This award was given to Ralph Holzfaster of Paxton for his ability to demonstrate vision, commitment and a deep understanding of the value of agriculture and the corn checkoff to the state of Nebraska.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.