is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist
NCGA Extends Yield Contest Entry Deadline

NCGA Extends Yield Contest Entry Deadline

Steve Ebke says widespread late planting is reason for extension.

Steve Ebke of Daykin says the 2011 National Corn Yield Contest deadline has been extended to July 25. The move is because of late planting in parts of the country.

Entries must be submitted online or postmarked on or before that date and are subject to the standard entry fee of $110 per entry.

"It was a late, long planting season for many growers throughout the Corn Belt," says Ebke, chairman of the Production and Stewardship Action Team. "At NCGA, we recognize the strain farmers experience while attempting to get the crop in the ground. Furthermore, early delays can cause tasks to pile up. We want every grower interested to have an opportunity to participate in the contest and hope that by extending the deadline we make it easier for them to do so."

For nearly a half century, NCGA's National Corn Yield Contest has provided corn growers the opportunity to compete with their colleagues to grow the most corn per acre, helping feed and fuel the world. This has given participants not only the recognition they deserved, but the opportunity to learn from their peers.

Winners receive national recognition in publications such as the National Corn Yield Guide, as well as cash trips or other awards from participating sponsoring seed, chemical and crop protection companies.

In Nashville, Tenn., during the 2012 Commodity Classic, state winners will be presented awards at the NCYC Breakfast and national winners will receive awards at the Awards Banquet.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.