Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: United States

NCGA Announces 2014 National, State Yield Contest Winners

NCGA Announces 2014 National, State Yield Contest Winners
Minnesota growers finish strong, even with the state's challenging growing season.

While Minnesota corn growers did not reach 500 bushels of corn per acre in 2014, they still had a decent year, given growing conditions.

Actually, 503 bushels per acre--that was the new all-time high yield in the 2014 National Corn Growers Association Corn Yield Contest. Plus, a record six national entries surpassed the 400-plus bushel per acre mark.

Advanced production techniques, informed growing practices and improved seed varieties helped southeastern/southern U.S. corn growers achieve those record-setting yields

The National Corn Yield Contest, now in its 50th year, had 8,129 entries.

NCGA Announces 2014 National, State Yield Contest Winners

The top18 winners in six production categories had verified yields averaging more than 383.6 bushels per acre, compared to the projected national average of 173.4 bushels per acre in 2014. While there is no overall contest winner, yields from first, second and third place farmers overall production categories topped out at 503.7190.

The all-time high yield record of 503 bushels per acre was set by Randy Dowdy/ of Valdosta, GA. The seven national entrants recording yields of more than 400 bushels per acre are: David Hula of Charles City, Va.; Craig Hula of Charles City, Va.; Steven Albracht of Hart, Texas; Randy Dowdy/ of Valdosta, Ga.; Randy Dowdy of Valdosta, Ga.; Dowdy Farms VIII of Valdosta, Ga; and Dowdy Farms II of Valdosta, Ga.

"Many of our members first joined NCGA so that they could participate in the National Corn Yield Contest and test their skills as a farmer," said Tom Haag, chairman of NCGA's Grower Services Action Team and a corn grower from Eden Valley. "While they join to gain entry, their view of the organization and corresponding level of participation evolves."

Here's how Minnesota corn yields ranked in the contest. Results below are listed by rank and category and include the farmer's name, town, hybrid brand, number and yield.

Rank B: AA Non-Irrigated
1. David Swenson, Mabel, Pioneer, P0533AM1, 270.9354
2. Wellens Farms, Carver, Pioneer, P0533AM1, 263.6373
3. Gary LeVan, Elgin, DEKALB, DKC54-38RIB, 258.9164

Rank D: AA No-Till/Strip-Till Non-Irrigated
1. Chris Sobeck, Winona, DEKALB, DKC62-97RIB, 262.2668
2. Jordan J Redalen, Fountain, DEKALB, DKC57-75RIB, 261.5865
3. Joseph & James Schieber, Caledonia, Pioneer, P0533AM1, 254.4629

Rank E: No-Till/Strip-Till Irrigated
1. Sobeck Farms, Winona, DEKALB, DKC60-67RIB, 231.8299
2. Robert Braun, Le Sueur, DEKALB, DKC53-78RIB, 216.2093
3. Roger Toquam, Blooming Prairie, DEKALB, DKC54-38RIB, 211.6430

Rank I: Irrigated
1. Curt Haler, Hastings, Pioneer, P1151AM, 253.7533
2. Bill Schaffer, Hastings, Pioneer, P1142AMX, 251.4898
3. Paul Beskau, Hastings, Pioneer, 34F07, 236.8582

Top winners receive national recognition in publications such as the NCYC Corn Yield Guide, as well as cash trips or other awards from participating sponsoring seed, chemical and crop protection companies. In Phoenix, Ariz., during the 2015 Commodity Classic, winners will be honored during the NCGA Awards Banquet and the NCYC State Winners Breakfast.

For a complete list of national and state winners, please visit the NCGA website at

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.