is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist
National Pork Producers Council Elects New Leadership

National Pork Producers Council Elects New Leadership

New president, president-elect and vice president elected, along with three new board members

Pork producers Dr. Howard Hill from Cambridge, Iowa, Dr. Ron Prestage from Camden, S.C., and John Weber, from Dysart, Iowa, were elevated to the post of president, president-elect and vice president, respectively, for the National Pork Producers Council.

The three were elected for one-year terms at NPPC's National Pork Industry Forum this week in Kansas City, Mo.

Dr. Howard Hill
Hill is a consultant for Iowa Select Farms and has been with the company since 2000. His pork production business, H&K Enterprises, includes hogs and cattle. Hill and his son farm 2,600 acres of corn, soybeans and alfalfa.

NEW LEADERSHIP: Dr. Howard Hill, Dr. Ron Prestage and John Weber elected as NPPC president, president-elect and vice president, respectively.

A native of southern California, Hill earned his bachelor's and doctorate of veterinary medicine degrees from the University of California-Davis; he received his Master's degree and Ph.D. in veterinary microbiology from Iowa State University.

Hill, who serves on a number of NPPC committees, recently served on the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Advisory Committee on Animal Health. He is a member of the Story County Iowa Pork Producers, is on the board of directors of the Iowa Pork Producers Association and is past president of the American Association of Swine Veterinarians. Hill also is involved with the Iowa Veterinary Medical Association and the American Veterinary Medical Association.

Dr. Ron Prestage
Prestage, a graduate of North Carolina State University who received his doctorate in veterinary medicine from Auburn University, has served in leadership positions with a number of organizations, including the National Turkey Federation, U.S. Poultry and Egg Association, American Association of Swine Veterinarians, South Carolina Poultry Federation, Palmetto Agribusiness Council, Auburn College of Veterinary Medicine, South Carolina Chamber of Commerce and the North Carolina State University Board of Trustees.


Prestage is part of the family-owned Prestage Farms, which includes hogs, turkeys, cattle and cropland for hay. He's primarily responsible for the sows and turkeys on the farms in South Carolina and the swine operation in Mississippi.

John Weber
Weber manages with his son Valley Lane Farms Inc., a grain and livestock operation in Iowa. He has been with Cargill Pork since 1994 and is currently contract feeding with finishing facilities on three of his farms.

Weber has served on several NPPC committees, including the Strategic Investment Program marketing committee, the Environmental Policy committee and the Farm Bill Task Force. Weber also serves on the Iowa Pork Producers Association board of directors as well as several state committees. Weber holds a bachelor's degree in Animal Science from Iowa State University.

"These well-respected gentlemen have proven track records of leadership in multiple capacities, across multiple areas of agriculture," said NPPC CEO Neil Dierks. "I am confident each will continue to work hard and bring new ideas to the table that will be of great benefit to the U.S. pork industry."

New board members
New members elected to the board for three-year terms were David Herring, of Lillington, N.C.; Phil Borgic, of Nokomis, Ill.; and Terry Wolters, of Pipestone, Minn. They join current directors Jim Compart, of Nicollet, Minn.; Jim Heimerl, of Johnstown, Ohio; Ray Summerlin, of Rose Hill, N.C.; Bill Kessler, of Mexico, Mo.; AV Roth, of Wauzeka, Wis.; Ken Maschhoff, of Carlyle, Ill.; and Chris Hodges, of Kansas City, Mo.

Elected for a two-year term as the allied industry representative was Kent Bang, with AgStar Financial. Re-elected for two-year terms to the NPPC Nominating Committee were Dave Moody, of Iowa, and Kraig Westerbeek, of North Carolina.

Source: NPPC

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.