Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: IA

National Pork Board Officers Elected

National Pork Board Officers Elected
Forkner will serve as Pork Board president.

Everett Forkner, a pork producer from Richards, Missouri, has been elected president of the 15-member National Pork Board. Forkner, the board's vice president, is the owner and president of Forkner Farms, which has 550 purebred sows and markets 7,500 hogs per year. With members of his family, he also raises corn, soybeans and wheat on 2,000 acres in west central Missouri.

Nationally, Forkner has served as chairman of the National Pork Board's producer-led Animal Science Committee. He also has served on the Niche Committee and as a member of the Nutritional Efficiency Consortium.  At the board level, he serves on the Administrative Committee. Previously, Forkner served as president of the American Landrace Association and on the board of the United Duroc Association.

National Pork Board members have also elected Conley Nelson, a pork producer from Algona, Iowa, vice president and Karen Richter, a pork producer from Montgomery, Minnesota, treasurer. All three will serve one-year terms beginning immediately.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.