is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist
National Milk Producers Elect Directors At Annual Meeting

National Milk Producers Elect Directors At Annual Meeting

Honorary Directors, Communicator Award Winner and Young Cooperator Advisory Council members also selected

The National Milk Producers Federation's Board of Directors seated two new members last week at the organization's 2012 annual meeting.

Donald De Jong from Dalhart, Texas was elected to represent Select Milk Producers, Inc., while Larry Webster from Buffalo, New York, was elected to represent Upstate Niagara Cooperative.

Honorary Directors, Communicator Award Winner and Young Cooperator Advisory Council members also selected

The eight officers currently serving NMPF were re-elected to their existing positions. They include: Chairman Randy Mooney, from Rogersville, Mo.; First Vice Chairman Ken Nobis, St. Johns, Mich.; Second Vice Chairman Cornell Kasbergen, Tulare, Calif.; Third Vice Chairman Mike McCloskey, Fair Oaks, Ind.; Treasurer Pete Kappelman, Two Rivers, Wis.; Assistant Treasurer Adrian Boer, Jerome, Idaho; Secretary Dave Fuhrmann, Baraboo, Wis.; Assistant Secretary Doug Nuttelman, Stromsburg, Neb.

In addition to the officer elections at this year's meeting, NMPF recognized three outgoing directors for their service on the NMPF Board of Directors: Tom Croner, Berlin, Penn., and Les Hardesty, Greeley, Colo., both representing Dairy Farmers of America, and Clyde Rutherford, Syracuse, N.Y., representing Dairylea Cooperative.

Additional Recognitions

NMPF also recognized four Honorary Directors, who provided exemplary service not only to NMPF, but also to the entire dairy industry: Lew Gardner, Galeton, Penn., along with Tom Croner, Les Hardesty, and Clyde Rutherford.

The 2012 NMPF Communicator of the Year award was presented to Amber DuMont Sheridan of Maryland & Virginia Milk Producers Cooperative Association in Reston, Va.

Members of NMPF's new 2013 Young Cooperator Advisory Council met to elect their officers for the upcoming year. Kris and Carla Wardin, from St. Johns, Mich., representing Michigan Milk Producers Association, were chosen to be the new YC Chairs. Nathan and Barbara Blesy, from Springville, N.Y., representing Upstate Niagara Cooperative, were elected YC Vice Chairs. David and Katherine Pyle, from New Columbia, Penn., representing Land O'Lakes, were elected Secretary.

In the 2012 NMPF Cheese Competition, a Parmesan cheese made by Associated Milk Producers Inc. was awarded the Grand Champion Cheese award. The cheese, made in Hoven, S.D., received a score of 99.0 from the judges. The AMPI Parmesan was selected from among 176 entries to this year's NMPF cheese contest – a record number of entries. Judges reviewed a total of 3006 pounds of cheese.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.