is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist
National Farmers Union Foundation Awards Six Scholarships

National Farmers Union Foundation Awards Six Scholarships

Scholarship recipients take home five $1,000 awards and one $2,000 award

The National Farmers UnionThursday announced the recipients of six Foundation scholarships.

Five Stanley Moore $1,000 scholarships were awarded to Julia Birgen of Lafayette, Colo., Hunter Huff Towle of Bismarck, N.D., Kelsey Schlegel of Dalmatia, Pa., Hayley Siroky of Roy, Mont., and Derek Tarabetz of Chamberlain, S.D.

The scholarships were established in the memory of Stanley Moore for his life-long dedication to Farmers Union. He served as the NFU vice president and as chairman of the NFU Insurance Companies.

The $2,000 Hubert and JoAnn Seymour Scholarship has been awarded to Kyle Knutson of Kathryn, N.D.

Scholarship recipients take home five $1,000 awards and one $2,000 award

This scholarship is named in honor of lifetime Illinois Farmers Union member Hubert K. Seymour and his wife. It has been given annually to outstanding high school seniors since 1995.

"These young people were selected from among all the great applicants from across the country," NFU President Roger Johnson said. "Education plays an important role in Farmers Union, and I'm very thankful to see all the applicants are so actively involved in their schools and communities." 

NFU Foundation is now accepting applications for the 2014 award year. Information on qualifications and the applications can be found at

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.