Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI
National Dairy Shrine Announces Scholarship Winners

National Dairy Shrine Announces Scholarship Winners

2012 NDS winners will receive a collective $40,000 in scholarship funds.

The National Dairy Shrine announced this week the winners of 2012 NDS scholarships. The scholarships will be presented at a banquet this October in Wisconsin, where the National Dairy Shrine will provide more than $40,000 of scholarship awards to students.

NDS Student Recognition Awards

NDS winners will receive a collective $40,000 in scholarship funds.

The NDS student recognition program recognizes graduating seniors planning a career related to the dairy industry who have demonstrated outstanding leadership skills, academic ability, and a sincere interest in dairy cattle. Each university is allowed to nominate up to two candidates for this recognition in any given year. The highest winner receives a $2000 award, the second a $1500 award and the other winners receive $1000 awards.

The top awarded is Elizabeth Olson from Hutchison, Minnesota. She has been very active in many dairy related activities at University of Minnesota – Twin Cities and has held leadership roles in many college and industry organizations. The second award goes to Danielle Brown of Dodgeville, Wisconsin. She is a Dairy Science and Communications major at University of Wisconsin – Madison. She has competed extensively in dairy cattle judging and been very active in the Badger Dairy Club.

Additional award winners include:

Philip Bachman, Ulysses, Penn.

Daniel Durfee, Chittenango, NY

Paul Lippert, Pittsville, Wis.

Carissa Levash, Brillion, Wis.

Laura Gordon, Shreve, Ohio

Leah Henkes, Luana, Iowa

Emily Ullerich, Ames, Iowa

Tera Koebel, Three Oaks, Mich.

Kildee Scholarship Awards

Receiving the Kildee Graduate Studies Scholarships are Abigail Wirt of Lewiston, Minnesota and Laura Gordon of Shreve, Ohio. Abigail is attending University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine. She is an outstanding student and has held numerous leadership roles on the campus of South Dakota State University. She has plans to be a large animal veterinarian. Gordon completed her degree in Agricultural Systems Management and Animal Science at Ohio State University. She plans to continue her education at Oklahoma State University in a program of International Agriculture with a focus on Agricultural Development. She aims to work internationally in third world countries on dairy development.

Casey Arlig of Friendship, New York, has been selected as the 2012 recipient of the Kildee Undergraduate Studies Scholarship. She is currently attending Cornell University, majoring in Agriculture Science with an emphasis in dairy nutrition. Her goal is to be a leading dairy cattle nutritionist.  


NDS/DMI Milk Marketing Scholarships

Theresa Twohey, of Stewartville, Minnesota has been awarded the 2012 National Dairy Shrine / DMI Milk Marketing $1500 Scholarship. Additionally, seven other undergraduate students have been awarded $1000 scholarships and are listed alphabetically. These generous scholarships are made possible by Dairy Management Inc. and NDS to encourage students to pursue careers in dairy product marketing.

Additional recipients include:

Jacob Achen, Ambia, Ind.

Hannah Bachman, Ulysses, Penn.

Erin Daninger, Forest Lake, Minn.

April Johnson, Heron Lake, Minn.

Stephanie Kasper, Owatonna, Minn.

Ashley Swenson, Nicollet, Minn.

Abby Wethal, Brooklyn, Wis.

McCullough Scholarships

Each year, two scholarships are awarded by National Dairy Shrine in memory of Dr. Marshall E. McCullough, the well-respected nutrition researcher and educator from Georgia. Eligible students must be entering their freshmen year of college and plan to major in dairy/animal science or agricultural journalism with a dairy emphasis. National dairy Shrine is pleased to announce the 2011 McCullough Scholarship Winners – Mikayla Conrad of New Holland, Ohio, and Emily Selner of Denmark, Wis.

Conrad will receive the $2500 top scholarship to be used towards her continued education at either the Ohio State University or Wilmington College as an Agricultural Communications major.

Selner will receive a $1000 scholarship to be used towards her pursuit of a Life Sciences Communication degree at the University of Wisconsin – Madison.

Maurice Core Scholarship

Michael Schmitt of Rice, Minn., won the Maurice Core Scholarship. This $1000 award is given in honor of Maurice Core, the long-time Executive Secretary of the American Jersey Cattle Association, and, more recently, the Executive Director of the National Dairy Shrine. The funds for this award were donated by the friends of Maurice Core. The Core Scholarship is given to a freshman status student working toward a degree in dairy or animal science.

Schmitt is an outstanding student, has shown very strong leadership abilities and has been involved in FFA, 4-H, and the Minnesota junior Holstein Association. He is a student at the University of Minnesota.


Iager Scholarship

The Iager Scholarship for $1000 is awarded annually to students in a two year agricultural school pursuing a career in the dairy industry. It is based on academic standing, leadership ability, interest in the dairy industry and plans for the future. This scholarship was started with a generous donation from the Charles and Judy Iager family of Fulton, Md.

Two recipients of the scholarship are Benjamin Julka of Rosendale, Wis., and Emiliy Jackson of Waco, Texas. Julka is attending Fox Valley Technical College and majoring in Farm Operations. Jackson is attending Butler Community College and majoring in Agriculture.

Klussendorf & McKown Scholarship Winners

Tyler Boyd of Parrottsville, Tenn., Jacob Achen of Ambia, Ind., Jessica Hammerand from Epworth, Iowa, and Corbin Wood of Littlestown, Penn., have been named the 2012 Klussendorf Association Scholarship Award winners. These $1500 scholarships are awarded by the Klussendorf Association and funded by a significant donation from Klussendorf member, Chris Kampf, and through gifts from fund raisers by the Klussendorf Association.

The Robert McKown Scholarship winners receive a $1500 scholarship in honor of "Whitey" McKown, a long time supporter of the Holstein breed and National Dairy Cattle Shows. These scholarships are made possible by generous donations from the family and friends of Robert "Whitey" McKown. This year's winners are Nathan Ulmer from Belllefonte, Penn., Ariel Waldeck from Upton, Ky., and Abbey Wethal of Brooklyn, Wis.


Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.