Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: IN

National Corn Growers Post 2013 Yield Contest Results

National Corn Growers Post 2013 Yield Contest Results
Farmers turn in top corn yields in 2013 for nation and in Indiana.

The results are in – the official winners and yields have been posted for the National Corn Growers Association Yield Contest. 

For nearly a half century, NCGA's National Corn Yield Contest has provided corn growers the opportunity to compete with their colleagues to grow the most corn per acre.  This gives participants not only the recognition they deserve, but the opportunity to learn from their peers, NCGA says.

2013 Corn Yield Winners: The National Corn Growers announced this year's yield contest winners. Kevin Kalb of Indiana was a national winner.

There are six categories in the contest: A) A Non-Irrigated Class; B) AA Non-Irrigated Class-Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio or Wisconsin; C) A No-Till/Strip-Till Non-Irrigated Class; D) AA No-Till/Strip-Till Non-Irrigated Class-Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio or Wisconsin; E) No-Till/Strip-Till Irrigated Class; and I) Irrigated Class.

Indiana Winners were as follows:

Class B) AA Non-Irrigated: Kevin Kalb of Dubois; Wally Linneweber of Vincennes; and Robert Little of Hebron

Class D) AA No-till/Strip-Till Non-Irrigated: Kathy Little of Hebron; Little Farms of Hebron; and Hardy Bros. Dairy Farms of Roanoke

Class E) No-Till/Strip-Till Irrigated: Craig Williams of Oaktown; Jason Misiniec of Edwardsport; G&M Farms of Rochester

Class I) Irrigated: Daniel Worland of Vincennes; Faith Little of Hebron; Beuligmann Farms Inc. of Poseyville

Kevin Kalb of Dubois was the National winner in the AA Non-Irrigated class.  Kalb won with a yield of 374.6210 from his DEKALB hybrid brand DKC62-08.

Winners receive national recognition in publications such as the NCYC Corn Yield Guide, as well as cash trips or other awards from participating sponsoring seed, chemical and crop protection companies. 

State winners will be recognized at the 2014 Commodity Classic NCYC Breakfast, and national winners will receive awards at the Awards Banquet.

The overall winner was from the East Coast, posting a yield of more than 450 bushels per acre. He has shared his insights with Indiana farmers in the past. His biggest edge is attention to detail.

Congratulations to all who participated. For full results visit

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.