is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist
Michigan's Stabenow Now Senate Ag Committee Chair

Michigan's Stabenow Now Senate Ag Committee Chair

Ag leadership set for the new Congress.

It's official.  Senator Debbie Stabenow, D-Mich., will serve as chairman of the U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry during the 112th Congress. One of her prime challenges will be writing the next farm bill.

Stabenow said," I look forward to working with my colleagues on both sides of the aisle, as we begin writing a new farm bill that once again recognizes the importance of America's agricultural economy and rural communities."

Ken Nobis, president of the Michigan Milk Producers Association says Stabenow continues to show leadership on agricultural issues and gives agriculture the support and resources to create local jobs and drive our economy. Jim Byrim, president of the Michigan Agri-Business Association, says Stabenow understands the importance of agricultural policy to farmers and agri-business, but also rural communities.

Stabenow has served on the agriculture committees in the Michigan legislature, U.S. House of Representatives and currently the U.S. Senate. Stabenow says not only does agriculture create jobs and feed our families across America, but it is also helping us develop new fuels and energy sources.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.