Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

Meet the 2016 Master Agriculturists

Meet the 2016 Master Agriculturists
Winners will be recognized March 30 in Oshkosh

The Wisconsin Agriculturist, in partnership with the Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board, the ag law firm of Twohig, Rietbrock, Schneider and Halbach, S.C., of Chilton, and Badgerland Financial, proudly presents the 2016 Master Agriculturist award to four top achievers in farming, community service and leadership.

The Master Agriculturist program is the state's oldest farm awards program and is one of the longest run career-achievement honors programs in American agriculture, dating back to 1930 when the Wisconsin Agriculturist first started honoring Wisconsin farmers for their hard work, dedication, success in farming and exemplary leadership.

Hank Wagner, who milks 650 Holsteins and farms 950 acres near Oconto Falls, is a 2016 Master Agriculturist.

Congratulations to Dick Cates of Spring Green, Mark Dietsche of Bloomer, Ken Feltz of Stevens Point and Hank Wagner of Oconto Falls.

All four winners have worn many hats in their businesses and communities, have built top-notch farming operations, and are truly deserving of receiving the Master Agriculturist award.

Awards program
The 2016 honorees will be recognized at an awards luncheon on Wednesday, March 30, at the La Sure’s Hall in Oshkosh during the Wisconsin Public Service Farm Show held at the nearby Experimental Aircraft Association Grounds. The keynote speaker is former Green Bay Packer George Koonce, who is currently vice president of advancement at Marian University in Fond du Lac.

The winners were selected for their proven ability and accomplishments as progressive farmers, and also for the time, effort and leadership they contribute to community, church and agricultural organizations.

The Master Agriculturist award is given to honor not only the selected individuals, but also their families.

The Master Agriculturist process begins by requesting a nomination form.

Forms already are available for the 2017 awards. To obtain a form, go online to, call 920-346-2285, email [email protected], or write to: Master Agriculturist, Wisconsin Agriculturist, 112 S. Prairie St., P.O. Box 236, Brandon, WI 53919.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.