is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: MN
MCGA Elects Two New Leaders, Four Veterans To Board

MCGA Elects Two New Leaders, Four Veterans To Board

Wolle and Anderson join the board of directors as new members.

Delegates to the annual meeting of the Minnesota Corn Growers Association elected two new members to its state board of directors and re-elected four other directors.

The event was held last week at the Verizon Wireless Center in Mankato.

The new directors are Harold Wolle Jr of St. James in Watonwan County, and Les Anderson of Cannon Falls in Goodhue County.

Wolle has raised corn and soybeans for 35 years and has been an MCGA member for 25 years. He is a member of Minnesota Soybean Growers Association, Minnesota Farm Bureau and Lions Club. His educational background is in management and finance.

"I think it is important for corn growers to educate the public and the decision makers in government about corn, its uses and the benefits of using this renewable resource," Wolle said. "I want to be part of the team that advocates for corn."

Wolle will represent District II, the south central region of Brown, Watonwan, Blue Earth, Waseca, Martin, Faribault and Freeborn Counties.

Les Anderson has farmed corn and soybeans since 1981 and has been a member of MCGA for most of that time. He has been a member of pork and ag co-op groups, and has served on the board of directors for a local bank.

"I have experience from sitting on many boards of organizations that have faced challenges and gone through changes and I would like to help promote the production and marketing of corn in Minnesota," said Anderson.

Anderson will represent District III, the southeastern portion of the state including Dakota/Rice, Scott/Le Sueur, Goodhue/North Wabasha, Steele, Dodge, Olmsted/South Wabasha, Mower, Winona, Fillmore and Houston Counties.

Wolle and Anderson will serve three-year terms.

Returning to the board are John Mages, Jean Knakmuhs, Dale Tolifson and Richard Rohrer.

Rohrer fills a one-year at-large position.

Mages, serving as MCGA president this year, represents District VI, the central and northern counties of the state, including Kittson, Roseau, Lake of the Woods, Koochiching, St. Louis, Lake, Cook, Marshall, Beltrami, Pennington, Red Lake, Polk, Clearwater, Norman, Mahnomen, Clay/Wilkin, Becker, Otter Tail/Grant, Traverse, Douglas, Pope, Kandiyohi, Meeker, Stearns, Morrison/Crow Wing/Todd, Wadena, Hubbard, Cass, Itasca, Benton/Sherburne, Anoka, Isanti, Chisago, Mille Lacs, Kanabec, Pine, Aitkin, and Carlton Counties.

Knakmuhs represents southwestern Minnesota in District I, including the counties of Redwood, Pipestone, Murray, Cottonwood, Rock, Noble and Jackson.

Tolifson represents District IV in the West Central region of the state, including Stevens, Big Stone, Swift, Chippewa, Lac Qui Parle, Yellow Medicine, Lincoln, and Lyon Counties.

Mages, Knakmuhs and Tolifson were elected to three-year terms.

Source: MCGA

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.