Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: IN

Master Farmer Nomination Deadline Nears

Master Farmer Nomination Deadline Nears
Here are the most recent winners of the Master Farmer award.

Though they are due Feb. 15, nominations for Master Farmers for 2013 are still open. That means the clock is ticking down, but you still have time to nominate someone who has not received the award.

One Purdue University professor who reviewed the list of past winners noted he was surprised by names that were not on the list – farmers he has worked with that do a good job and are leaders in their community. If they are not on the list, odds are no one has nominated them. Now is the chance to correct that omission.

Teammates: The person who nominated David and Mary Howell, Middletown, in 2010 said both must receive the award because they work on their crop and vegetable farm as a team.

We began listing previous winners last week since we always get asked who has won the award before. There have been more than 200 Master Farmers named in Indiana since the modern version of the program began in 1968. Today the program is sponsored by Indiana Prairie Farmer and the Purdue University College of Agriculture.

Here the most recent winners, beginning with 2005.

For 2005: Roger Hadley II, Robert Mann, Joe Peden, Ed Yanos

For 2006: Jim Culp, Mark Legan, Gary Reding and Mark Townsend

For 2007: Scott Beck, Bruce Buchanan, Jim Douglas and David Miers

For 2008: Robert Bishop, Thomas Johnson, Jim Lankford and Rory Walker

For 2009: Rodney Hager, Chris Mann, Maurice Robeson, R. Duane Wolheter

For 2010: Keith Berry, David and Mary Howell, Ray McCormick, Mike Shuter

For 2011: William Schroeder, (Knox County); Loran Wilson, Jim Day and John Zupancic

For 2012: William Schroeder (White County); Ed Carmichael, Kim Ames, Kerry Ames, Keith Ames and Gene Schmidt

According to our records, all of these winners are still living, and as far as we know, still farming. If you know of a Master Farmer that has made the list last week or this week who is deceased, but we failed to denote it, please let us know. Contact us at [email protected].

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.