Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

Manitowoc County Tops State 4-H Dairy Judging Contest

Manitowoc County Tops State 4-H Dairy Judging Contest
Barron County wins junior contest.

A total of 86 youth competed at the Wisconsin 4-H Dairy Judging Contest held July 21 in Black River Falls during the state Ayrshire and Guernsey shows.

TOP SENIOR TEAM: Manitowoc County won the senior division of the state 4-H dairy judging contest. From left is Coach Paul Siemers, Tiffany Roberts, Sanne de Bruijn, Crystal Siemers-Peterman, Jordan Siemers, and Coach Angie Ulness.

Manitowoc County took top honors in the senior contest and will go on to represent Wisconsin at the National 4-H Dairy Judging Contest at World Dairy Expo in Madison in September. Dane County took second place and will represent Wisconsin and compete at the All American in Harrisburg, Penn., in September. Kristin Broege from Rock County was the high individual in the senior division, giving her the chance to compete along with, Dawson Nickels from Dodge County, Emily Hellendrung from Barron County, and Jessica Pralle from Clark County at the North American International Livestock Exposition in Lousiville, Ky., in November. Lizi Endres was the top reasons individual scoring 191 out of 200 points.

In the junior competition, Barron County won first team overall. Columbia County was the second high team and was first in the type analysis questions category.  In the junior individual contest, Emily Pintens of Barron County edged out McKenzie Calvert of Lafayette County by 1 point to win the competition. Sarah Hagenow of Columbia County was the top individual in the type analysis questions category.

Top Five Junior Teams
Barron County: Emily Pintens, Brooke Hammann, Justyne Frisle, Zach Moret
Columbia County: Ashley Hagenow, Sarah Hagenow, Brett Walker, Jarret Foster
Crawford County: Regan Kramer, Sarah Kearns, Cathleen Anderson, Lucas Kramer
Lafayette County: McKenzie Calvert, Madison Calvert, Gracie Douglas, Brooke Douglas
Sheboygan County: Cole Booth, Elise Bleck, Brady Bleck, Shaun Jens

Top Ten Junior Individuals
Emily Pintens, Barron County
McKenzie Calvert, Lafayette County
Ashley Hagenow, Columbia County
Brooke Hammann, Barron County
Sarah Hagenow, Columbia County
Ben Kronberg, Rock County
Cole Booth, Sheboygan County
Regan Kramer, Crawford County
Katie Crosby, Washburn County
Justyne Frisle, Barron County

Top Five Senior Teams
Manitowoc County: Crystal Peterman, Jordan Siemers, Tiffany Roberts, Sanne de Bruijn
Dane County: Lizi Endres, Elizabeth Sarbacker, Emma Olstad, Lindsay Sarbacker
Dodge County: Dawson Nickels, Aluexus Remington, Paul Grulke, Ben Buske
Rock County: Kristen Broege, Abigail Martin, Alyssa Templeton, Otis Johnson
Fond du Lac County: Matthew Kramer, Andrew Greenfield, Darren Kamphuis

Top Ten Senior Individuals
Kristen Broege, Rock County
Lizi Endres, Dane County
Dawson Nickels, Dodge County
Crystal Peterman, Manitowoc County
Benjamin Powers, Dunn County
Elizabeth Sarbacker, Dane County
Jordan Siemers, Manitowoc County
Matthew Kramer, Fond du Lac County
Emily Hellendrung, Barron County
Jessica Pralle, Clark County

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.