Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: KS

Kansas Farm Bill Coalition Releases Direction for 2007 Federal Legislation

Coalition is first of its kind for Kansas farm groups.

Never before has the entire agriculture industry in Kansas come forward with a common list of recommendations for the 2007 federal agriculture legislation. This landmark agenda and the full list of Kansas Farm Bill Coalition members can be accessed at:

This historic accomplishment between 20 general farm, commodity and other industry organizations, was the result of requests from Kansas Senators and Congressmen for a unified industry voice. That seed grew into the Coalition, which has worked for the past eighteen months to come together with the landmark release of 34 unanimous recommendations.

Jerry McReynolds, Woodston farmer and past president of the Kansas Association of Wheat Growers, led Monday's announcement. "The past eighteen months have definitely proven to be a learning process with intense, honest, and open deliberations…not without a few tense moments."

At the first meeting in May 2005, the Coalition identified a distinguished Steering Committee of producers who structured the discussions and identified experts as resources.They include: Bob Timmons, Kansas Corn Growers Association; Keith Miller, Kansas Farm Bureau; Ray Kohman, National Farmers Organization; Don Teske, Kansas Farmers Union; Dennis Hupe, Kansas Soybean Association; Greg Shelor, Kansas Grain Sorghum Producers Association; Kendall Grecian, Kansas Livestock Association and Jerry McReynolds, Kansas Association of Wheat Growers.

"We agreed on many items and agreed to disagree on a few.Through it all, respect, honesty and service to our industry prevailed," McReynolds summarized for the Steering Committee who was on hand to assist with the announcement.

TAGS: Soybeans
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.