Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: KS
Kansas Factual Story Contest Offers Cash Awards

Kansas Factual Story Contest Offers Cash Awards

Story must have taken place in Kansas, be true and unpublished; deadline to submit by e-mail is Nov. 18.

Do you have a real-life family history story that you'd love to tell?

Here is your chance to not only tell it, but maybe get paid for. Entries are now being accepted for the annual "Kansas Factual Story Contest" sponsored by the Native Sons and Daughters of Kansas.

The contest encourages preserving, in writing, factual, unpublished happenings and anecdotes in the lives of Kansans today and yesterday. Olive Ann Beech, of Wichita, provided cash awards for winners for over 30 years. Following her death, her daughter, Mary Lynn Oliver, Wichita, has continued this support.

"Kansas Factual Story Contest" sponsored by the Native Sons and Daughters of Kansas.

Beech Memorial Cash Awards are: 1st place, $175; 2nd place, $125; 3rd place, $100; and $50 each for two honorable mentions. Entrants are asked to keep copies of their entries; none will be returned. The Kansas Historical Society may preserve all stories in their collections.

Stories should be about something that took place in Kansas and must be true and not previously published. Each story is limited to 750 words. The contest is open to anyone, anywhere, but only one story may be submitted per person.

 Entries must be submitted by e-mail no later than November 18, 2011. Send entries to: Terry Marmet, Kansas Historical Foundation, via e-mail to:  In the subject are of the email put "Beech Memorial Contest."  The author's name, mailing address, and phone number must be included on the essay.

A panel from the Kansas Historical Society and the Foundation will judge entries. Winners will be announced and recognized at the annual meeting of the Native Sons and Daughters of Kansas in Topeka, Friday, January 27, 2012.  The Kansan of the Year, Distinguished Kansan, and other honorees may be featured at the banquet.

Winners for 2011 were 1st place Linda S. Hubbard, Topeka; 2nd place Sheryl Brenn, Levant; 3rd place Karen Ridder, Topeka.  Honorable Mentions were Christine Kramer, Topeka; and Carmen Duran-Martinez, Topeka.

Questions should be directed to: Terry Marmet, Director of Operations, Kansas Historical Foundation, Topeka, KS. Telephone 785-272-8681, ext. 209; e-mail address:

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.