Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: KS

Kansans to Be Honored for Support of Wheat

Moran, Roberts and Jagger earn awards from NAWG.

Three Kansans will be honored this week for their continued support of the nation's wheat industry and the food producers in that industry.

The National Association of Wheat Growers has announced that Kansas First District Congressman Jerry Moran has been selected for the NAWG Wheat Advocate 2006 Award, while Craig Jagger, Chief Economist for the House Agriculture Committee was named for one of the Friends of Wheat 2006 awards.

Kansas Senator Pat Roberts is being honored for his 100% Senatorial voting record in support of the nation's wheat industry in the past Congressional session.

In speaking of Jagger's selection, Dusti Fritz, Chief Executive Officer of Kansas Wheat, said, "He has been a long time supporter of wheat in his role with the House Ag Committee". He is a Kansan, whose father is the namesake of the Jagger wheat variety.

Congressman Moran was honored for his continuing support of the wheat industry in both Kansas and around the nation, as well as his 100% voting record in the second session of the 109th Congress. Rep. Moran, from the Big First District of Kansas, is joined by two other Congressmen and four Senators in being named as Wheat Advocates.

Jagger was one of two staff members of the House Ag Committee along with three Representatives and three Senators who were named Friends of Wheat.

Several leaders of the Kansas Association of Wheat Growers will be in Washington, D.C. this week for the winter meeting of the NAWG Board of Directors, and they plan on presenting the awards to Jagger, Rep. Moran, and Sen. Roberts on Wednesday, January 24th while they are visiting Congressional offices.

The Kansas travelers include KAWG President Joe Kejr of Brookville, Vice-President Paul Penner of Hillsboro, board member Jay Cook of Garden City, and past KAWG presidents John Thaemert of Sylvan Grove and Jerry McReynolds of Woodston. Thaemert is currently First Vice-President of the National Association of Wheat Growers and is anticipating elevation to the NAWG Presidency at the annual Commodity Classic in Tampa, Florida in March. McReynolds is a candidate to become NAWG Secretary-Treasurer at the annual meeting in Tampa.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.