is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist
Iowans Elected To Key Roles On National Biodiesel Board

Iowans Elected To Key Roles On National Biodiesel Board

Soybean farmer Ed Ulch of Solon is elected vice chair of National Biodiesel Board, and Gary Haer of Renewable Energy Group in Ames is elected NBB chairman.

Ed Ulch, a farmer from Solon and a district director of the Iowa Soybean Association has been elected to serve as vice chair of the National Biodiesel Board. Ulch, who represents ISA on the NBB, is one of NBB's four returning governing board members who, along with three new members, were chosen by their fellow board members to serve on the leadership committee.

"I'm honored to be elected vice chair of NBB," Ulch says. "NBB activities continue to expand, including substantial new growth in the area of bioheat. Being America's first advanced biofuel assures the expanded use of biodiesel, starting now. We expect biodiesel usage to increase sharply next year."
ISA was one of the founding members of the NBB and has supported the biodiesel industry from the beginning, through research funding, marketing, education and promotion efforts. As a result, biodiesel offers soybean farmers an excellent return on their checkoff investment. ISA continues to work in a close partnership with NBB to grow the industry and provide opportunities for biodiesel and for Iowa's soybean growers.

New chairman of NBB remains optimistic about future of biodiesel

NBB members also selected the first biodiesel producer to take the chairman role. "Led by a robust and diverse trade association the biodiesel industry is well prepared to meet the opportunities of the future," says newly elected NBB chairman Gary Haer of Renewable Energy Group, also from Iowa. "I am optimistic about what is in store for the biodiesel industry as we join forces to fulfill federal alternative energy requirements and work together to continue to advance the industry."

Ed Hegland, past chairman and a Minnesota farmer, adds that "The National Biodiesel Board has forged the way for biodiesel to become America's first advanced biofuel. The unanimous selection of our new chairman shows the unity among the different entities that make up the governing board and the NBB."

Officers elected to lead the board are:
• Gary Haer, chairman, Renewable Energy Group, Inc.  (biodiesel producer)
• Ed Ulch, vice chair, Iowa Soybean Board (farmer)
• Ron Marr, secretary, Minnesota Soybean Processors (biodiesel roducer)
• Jim Conway, treasurer, Griffin Industries (biodiesel producer)

Biodiesel board members also voted to fill seven board member spots. Board members elected to the Governing Board include officers and:
• Greg Anderson, Nebraska Soybean Board (Farmer)
• Ramon Benavides, GEN-X Energy Group (Producer)
• Steven Levy, Sprague Energy (Producer)
• Dave Lyons, Louis Dreyfus (Producer)
• Doug Smith, Baker Commodities (Producer)
• David Womack, Tennessee Soybean Promotion Board (Farmer)
• John Wright, Owensboro Grain Company (Producer)

Ed Hegland, Kris Kappenman, Bob Metz, and Darryl Brinkmann also serve on the Governing Board of the NBB.

Based in Jefferson City, Mo., NBB is dedicated to supporting the commercial biodiesel industry. Its membership is comprised of biodiesel producers, state, national, and international feedstock and processor organizations; fuel marketers and distributors; and technology providers. To lean more about renewable, sustainable biodiesel, visit

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.