is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist
Iowan Elected NCGA First Vice President

Iowan Elected NCGA First Vice President

When Pam Johnson becomes president of the National Corn Growers Association in October 2012, she will be the first woman to lead the organization.

Pam Johnson, a corn farmer from Floyd in northeast Iowa has been elected as first vice president for the National Corn Growers Association for the 2011-2012 fiscal year. When she becomes NCGA president in October 2012, Johnson will be the first woman to lead NCGA. The first vice president is the president-elect of the corn grower organization.

"It is an honor to be elected an officer for the National Corn Growers Association," Johnson says. "This is an organization whose farmer leaders and staff members are supremely dedicated to an industry vitally important to our country and our world. I look forward to working with farmer members, state leaders and many partners as NCGA continues its mission as the leading national voice for corn farmers, and as a thought leader when it comes to growing opportunities for American agriculture."

She has been an active leader in Iowa Corn Growers for years

Johnson is a director of the Iowa Corn Growers Association and former Iowa Corn Promotion Board chair. Johnson's election is scheduled for a ratification vote by delegates at the July 13 Corn Congress meeting in Washington, D.C.

"Pam has given a lot of time and leadership as an advocate for agriculture at the local, state, national and international level," says Craig Floss, Iowa Corn's chief executive officer. "I have no doubt she will do an outstanding job representing Iowa's corn farmers as a member of the NCGA executive committee."

<caption for photo> The National Corn Growers Association Corn Board on June 15 elected Pam Johnson of Iowa to become the organization's first vice president for the next fiscal year, which begins October 1, 2011. When she becomes NCGA president in October 2012, Johnson will be the first woman to lead NCGA.

Johnson farms with her husband and two sons, raises corn and soybeans on a 2,700-acre farm in Floyd, Iowa. They also manage a seed business and are members in value-added businesses such as ethanol and biodiesel. Johnson is the board liaison to the NCGA Grower Services Action Team and has served on the Finance Committee and has chaired both the Bylaws Committee and the NCGA Research and Business Development Action Team.

"NCGA has a long history of strong leadership, and we had several outstanding candidates from which to choose. I thank all of them for their desire to serve and their dedication to our organization," says NCGA president Bart Schott. "As someone who has long been working hard on behalf of corn farmers at the state and national level, Pam will be a welcome addition to the leadership team this fall and I am sure she will make an excellent president the following year."

On October 1, 2011 Schott of North Dakota becomes chairman. Current first vice president, Garry Niemeyer of Illinois, becomes NCGA president. Schott and his family raise no-till corn, soybeans and wheat in Kulm, N.D., and he also runs a seed business including sales and small-grain seed. Niemeyer farms with his wife in Auburn, Ill., where he's a third-generation farmer growing corn and beans.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.