is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist
Iowa Corn Growers Set New Policies

Iowa Corn Growers Set New Policies

Delegates debated and adopted new policies at ICGA's annual meeting in Des Moines last week. The policy session sets the agenda for issues the organization will push for in 2012 legislative session.

Grassroots representatives from the Iowa Corn Growers Association reinstated expiring policies, and debated and adopted new policies, at the ICGA annual meeting and policy conference in Des Moines on August 27, 2011.

"This policy meeting is the final step in setting corn grower policy for the coming year," says Kevin Ross, a corn farmer from Minden who is the new ICGA president. "We had good debate on upcoming policy and current events. It is another important way to see that corn growers from across the state are engaged in policy decisions that affect their operations."

Here's a sampling of some of the resolutions that were approved:

* The Iowa Corn Growers Association priorities for the 2012 Farm Bill are, in the following order: crop insurance cost-share, an improved ACRE program with a more local trigger, trade and market access, research and conservation. 

* ICGA reaffirmed its belief that nutrient management application issues should be managed by state environmental and/or agriculture departments.

* Congress should support equitable incentives for both domestic renewable fuels production and domestic oil production.

* Defense of the federal Renewable Fuels Standard (RFS2) should be the highest priority for federal ethanol policy.

* Flood control, transportation, and industrial economic activity should be the priority for river management. Recreational uses should be allowed but not be prioritized.

* We support cost share and/or tax credits for conservation and/or environmental practices. 

Corn farmers who attended the annual policy meeting also had a chance to hear from some of the Republican presidential candidates. Each gave a short speech and answered questions from the ICGA members. The candidates who spoke were Texas Governor Rick Perry, Texas Congressman Ron Paul and Michigan Congressman Thaddeus McCotter. Iowa Governor Terry Branstad, Lt. Governor Kim Reynolds and Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Bill Northey also addressed the ICGA policy delegation.

The annual policy conference is the year end event in the ICGA's annual policy development process, which includes an issues poll of all members and regional roundtable discussions across the state. The complete 2011-2012 policy resolution book is available at ICGA is a membership organization, lobbying on agricultural issues on behalf of its 6,600 members. For more information about ICGA and its programs, visit

Owen Newlin receives first Iowa Corn Lifetime Achievement Award

Owen J. Newlin, retired senior vice president of Pioneer Hi-Bred International, received the first Iowa Corn Lifetime Achievement Award on Saturday, August 27, 2011 at the Iowa Corn Growers Association Annual meeting.

"Owen was instrumental in helping to establish the Iowa Corn Checkoff as well as many other state corn checkoffs around the country" says Craig Floss, Iowa Corn CEO. "We are excited to be honoring Owen as the first recipient of the Iowa Corn Lifetime Achievement Award because of his commitment and dedication the corn industry."

This new award is given in recognition of outstanding service and commitment to advance the corn industry and keep the industry cutting edge through technology, political action and time devoted to the Iowa corn industry.

Among the many other awards and citations Newlin has received are the Order of the Knoll True and Valiant Award, Distinguished Achievement Award, Alumni Merit Award, and the Order of the Knoll Campanile Award, all from Iowa State University.

He has received the Distinguished Achievement Award from the University of Minnesota; the Agri-Marketer of the Year Award from the National Agricultural Marketing Association; the VIP Citation from Future Farmers of America; U.S. Grains Council Lifetime Achievement Award, and the National Corn Growers Association President's Award. He is a fellow of the American Society of Agronomy and the Crop Science Society of America, and a long time member of the Iowa Corn Growers Association.
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.