is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist
Iowa Corn Growers Elect New Officers

Iowa Corn Growers Elect New Officers

The Iowa Corn Growers Association and the Iowa Corn Promotion Board both elected new officers at their annual meeting and policy conference August 27 in Des Moines.

The Iowa Corn Growers Association and the Iowa Corn Promotion Board announced new officers for the year starting Sept. 1, 2011. The two organizations elected their new officers at the ICGA & ICPB annual meeting and policy conference August 27 in Des Moines.

* Iowa Corn Growers Association: Kevin Ross, a corn, soybean and cow-calf producer from Pottawattamie County near Minden in western Iowa, is the new ICGA president. An ICGA board member since 2008, Ross has served on the Iowa Corn Grassroots Network, Membership & Checkoff Committee, Usage and Production Committee, the Animal Agriculture and Environment Committee, and the National Corn Growers Association Ethanol Committee.

Joining Ross on the ICGA executive officer team are: Bruce Rohwer, who farms near Paullina in northwest Iowa, as ICGA vice president; Roger Zylstra, who farms at Lynnville in central Iowa, as ICGA secretary/treasurer; Dean Taylor, who farms near Prairie City in central Iowa, as ICGA past president.

* Iowa Corn Promotion Board: Deb Keller, from Clarion in Wright county in north central Iowa, has been named the new Iowa Corn Promotion Board Chair. Keller, a farmer for 23 years, has done extensive work in the value-added and export areas, serving on the Research & Business Development Committee and the Exports & Grain Trade Committee for Iowa Corn.  She is also a delegate to the U.S. Grains Council, where she serves on the advisory team that overseas export programs in the Americas, Africa, and the Middle East and a member of the National Corn Growers Association's Research & Development Action Team.

Joining Keller on the ICPB executive officer team are: Kevin Rempp of Montezuma in east central Iowa, as vice chairman; Bob Bowman of DeWitt in eastern Iowa, as ICPB secretary/treasurer; and Dick Gallagher, of Washington in southeast Iowa, as ICPB past chairman. 

The Iowa Corn Promotion Board works to develop and defend markets, fund research and provide education about corn and corn products. The Iowa Corn Growers Association is a membership organization lobbying on agricultural issues on behalf of its 6,700 farmer members. Both organizations work on the joint mission to create opportunities for long-term Iowa corn grower profitability.

Owen Newlin Receives First Iowa Corn Lifetime Achievement Award

Owen J. Newlin, retired senior vice president of Pioneer Hi-Bred International, received the first Iowa Corn Lifetime Achievement Award on Saturday, August 27 at the Iowa Corn Growers Association Annual meeting.

"Owen was instrumental in helping to establish the Iowa Corn Checkoff as well as many other state corn checkoffs around the country" said Craig Floss, Iowa Corn CEO. "We are excited to be honoring Owen as the first recipient of the Iowa Corn Lifetime Achievement Award because of his commitment and dedication the corn industry." 

The Iowa Corn Lifetime Achievement Award is given in recognition of outstanding service and commitment to advance the corn industry and keep the industry cutting edge through technology, political action and time devoted to the Iowa corn industry.

Among the many other awards and citations Newlin has received are the Order of the Knoll True and Valiant Award, Distinguished Achievement Award, Alumni Merit Award, and Order of the Knoll Campanile Award from Iowa State University; the Distinguished Achievement Award from the University of Minnesota; the Agri-Marketer of the Year Award from the National Agricultural Marketing Association; the VIP Citation from Future Farmers of America; U.S. Grains Council Lifetime Achievement Award, and the National Corn Growers Association President's Award. He is a fellow of the American Society of Agronomy and the Crop Science Society of America, and a long time member of the Iowa Corn Growers Association.

Photo available for download at:

Photo Caption: Owen J. Newlin (third from the right) receives the Iowa Corn Lifetime Achievement from (left to right) Craig Floss, Iowa Corn CEO, Governor Terry Branstad, ICGA Past President, Dean Taylor, ICGA President Kevin Ross, Iowa Corn Promotion Board Past Chair, Dick Gallagher, and Iowa Secretary of Agriculture, Bill Northey.
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.