Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: IA
Iowa Cattlemen Re-elect Top Leaders For 2014

Iowa Cattlemen Re-elect Top Leaders For 2014

Iowa Cattlemen's Association has leadership continuity as it heads into the New Year.

The leadership of the Iowa Cattlemen's Association will have strong continuity as 2014 begins. Ed Greiman of Garner, and Phil Reemtsma of DeWitt, were re-elected to serve second terms as president and president-elect respectively during ICA's recent annual meeting in December.

Greiman, a 44-year old farmer from northern Iowa, is involved with both a feedyard and cow-calf operation, and has served on the ICA board of directors since December 2009. Reemtsma has been a member of the board since December 2006. He feeds cattle and is a large animal veterinarian in eastern Iowa.

IOWA CATTLE LEADERS: At the Iowa Cattlemen's Association recent annual meeting in December, Ed Greiman of Garner was re-elected to serve a second term as president. Phil Reemtsma of DeWitt was elected to serve a second term as president-elect.

Newly elected to the ICA executive committee is Sparky Wellman of Bonaparte. She was elected as the southeast regional vice president earlier this fall. Wellman was the District 20 (southeast Iowa) ICA director since 2007. She replaces Tom Bonnichsen of Letts, on the executive committee. Bonnichsen was in the position on an interim basis.

Also re-elected to the ICA executive committee in December is Brent Henningsen of Ames. Henningsen is a senior territory manager for Zoetis, and serves as ICA associate vice president. Other members of ICA's executive committee are Al Johnson, of Northwood, northwest regional vice president; Larry Johnson of Maquoketa, northeast regional vice president; and David Trowbridge of Tabor, southwest regional vice president.

Other board members were elected at district meetings held in the fall, prior to the annual meeting. Results for the district elections, with indications of re-election and newly elected directors and alternate directors follow. They began serving at the conclusion of the 2013 ICA Annual Meeting, which was held during the recent Iowa Cattle Industry Convention in Altoona, Dec. 9-11.

District 2, Richard Nelson, Emmetsburg, re-elected as director; Gerry Eckelberg, Dolliver, alternate.

District 5, Bob Noble, Riceville, newly elected as director since the term for Mike Codner, Bristow, had expired; Jeff Codner, Dumont, alternate.

District 8, Tom Hiler, Rockwell City, re-elected; Nick Albright, Lytton, alternate.

District 11, Dave Rueber, Luxemburg, re-elected; Jason Kurt, Cascade, alternate.

District 14, Brian Wilson, Monroe, re-elected; Mike Nolin, Monroe, alternate.

District 17, Dick Godfrey, Henderson, re-elected; Perry Beedle, Oakland, alternate.

District 20, Steven Kisling, Keosauqua, newly elected as director since the term for Sparky Wellman had expired; Thom Miller, Winfield, alternate.

The positions of ICA president, president-elect, and associate vice president are all one-year terms. Those serving in the positions can serve a maximum of two terms. Regional vice presidents serve two-year terms, and may serve a maximum of three terms. District directors and alternates are three-year terms, and they may serve a maximum of two terms in each position.

About the Iowa Cattlemen's Association: The ICA represents more than 10,000 beef-producing families and associated companies dedicated to the future of Iowa's beef industry. ICA's mission is "Grow Iowa's beef business through advocacy, leadership and education." You can follow ICA on Twitter at @iacattlemen.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.