is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist
Iowa Beef Council Has New Directors

Iowa Beef Council Has New Directors

Iowa Beef Industry Council seats new directors and re-elects officers to help lead the organization in 2011.

Daryl Strohbehn, a cow-calf producer from Boone in central Iowa, was recently seated as a director on the Iowa Beef Industry Council for 2011. Elected at the IBIC annual meeting, he will serve a three-year term. Newly appointed to one-year terms are Nancy Couser, cattle feeder from Nevada in central Iowa, and Steve Rehder, cattle producer from Hawarden in northwest Iowa.    

Dan Cook of New Providence, was re-elected IBIC chairman at the April board meeting.  Cook will lead the group of cattle producers who oversee the Iowa Beef Checkoff Program.

Elaine Utesch of Correctionville, was re-elected vice-chairman; secretary is Roger Brummett of Bedford, and treasurer is Scott Niess of Osage. Other members serving on the IBIC executive committee in addition to Strohbehn are Bill Northey, Iowa secretary of agriculture; Wendy Wintersteen, dean of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences at Iowa State University; and Justin Gibson of Lamoni, representing the Iowa Livestock Market Association.

Beef producers re-appointed to the IBIC include: 

Other beef producers re-appointed to one year terms include Bob Henderson of Albia; Ed Greiman of Garner; and Ken Birker of Vinton. Terri Carstensen of Odebolt; Scott McGregor of Nashua; Tom Hotz of Lone Tree; and Helen Wiese of Manning, serve as one-year appointees and join Utesch representing Iowa on the Federation of State Beef Councils. Iowa's National Beef Board directors, appointed by the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture, include Will Frazee of Emerson; Kent Pruismann of Rock Valley; Dean Black of Somers; Jeff Clausen of Carson.

Iowans provide leadership on national beef committees

Beef producers who represent Iowa on national beef promotion committees serve in leadership positions. Terri Carstensen, Odebolt, chairs the advertising committee and serves as Region III vice-president of the Federation of State Beef Councils; Jeff Clausen, Carson and a Beef Board member, chairs the beef safety committee; Scott McGregor, Nashua, is chair of the foodservice committee.  Will Frazee of Emerson, was re-elected to the Executive Committee of the Cattlemen's Beef Board.

The Iowa Beef Industry Council administers the Iowa portion of the national beef checkoff. The 2009-2010 Iowa budget will invest about $1.6 million in state and national beef promotion, research, consumer information and industry information programs. In addition, Iowa forwards approximately $1.6 million to the National Cattlemen's Beef Board to be distributed to national beef promotion programs to market beef domestically and internationally. For information contact Iowa Beef Industry Council, P.O. Box 451, Ames, IA  50010, 515-296-2305 or go to

Producer-directed and consumer-focused, the Iowa Beef Industry Council is funded by the $1-per-head beef checkoff.  Checkoff dollars are invested in beef promotion, consumer information, research, industry information and foreign market development, all with the purpose of strengthening beef demand.  For more information, visit

New IBIC Directors from these counties:

            Boone                                      Daryl Strohbehn, Boone

            Sioux                                       Steve Rehder, Hawarden

            Story                                       Nancy Couser, Nevada

Other cattle producers from these counties serving on the Iowa Beef Industry Council:

            Benton                                     Ken Birker, Vinton      

            Carroll                                     Helen Wiese, Manning

            Chickasaw                              Scott McGregor, Nashua

            Decatur                                   Justin Gibson, Lamoni Livestock Auction

            Hancock                                 Ed Greiman, Garner

            Hardin                                     Dan Cook, New Providence, Chairman

            Johnson                                  Tom Hotz, Lone Tree

            Mitchell                                    Scott Niess, Osage, Treasurer

            Monroe                                    Bob Henderson, Albia

            Sac                                          Terri Carstensen, Odebolt

            Taylor                                      Roger Brummett, Bedford, Secretary

            Woodbury                               Elaine Utesch, Correctionville, Vice-chairman

Producers represent Iowa on national Cattlemen's Beef Board:

            Mills - Montgomery                 Will Frazee, Emerson

            Calhoun                                   Dean Black, Somers

            Pottawattamie                         Jeff Clausen, Carson

            Sioux                                       Kent Pruismann, Rock Valley

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.