is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist
Iowa 4-H'ers Earn 2011 State 4-H Project Awards

Iowa 4-H'ers Earn 2011 State 4-H Project Awards

Fifty Iowa 4-H'ers have earned state 4-H project awards, the highest achievement 4-H'ers can receive in project work. Information is available on individual recipients by county.

Fifty Iowa 4-H'ers have earned state 4-H project awards. A state 4-H project award is the highest achievement 4-H'ers can receive in project work. Each student also received a $100 savings bond from the Mary Jo and Glen Mente Endowment and the Iowa 4-H Foundation.

Brenda Allen, a 4-H youth development specialist with Iowa State University Extension, said these awards indicate that the youths not only have mastered skills in that particular area, but also have shared their knowledge through presentations, workshops or helping others. In addition, 4-H project award winners must convey what they've gained in their project through a rigorous state application and interview process.

Follow the links below for information about the recipients by county:

Adair County

Buchanan County

Calhoun County

Clayton County

Dallas County

Fayette County

Hamilton County

Humboldt County

Jackson County

Johnson County

Jones County

Linn County

Lucas County

Madison County

Muscatine County

Osceola County

Polk County

Sac County

Shelby County

Washington County

Wayne County

Webster County

Woodbury County

Worth County

2011 State 4-H Dairy Quiz Bowl winners announced

In other recent 4-H news, the Fayette County Senior Dairy Quiz Bowl Team placed first in the annual 4-H Youth Dairy Quiz Bowl, held June 14, 2011 at the Starmont High School in Arlington. The team will represent Iowa 4-H at the National 4-H Dairy Quiz Bowl in Louisville, Ky., in November. Teams from Delaware and Dubuque counties also placed in the event.

The event provides experience for the up and coming youth to demonstrate their knowledge about the dairy industry, says Mike Anderson, 4-H ag program coordinator with Iowa State University Extension.

The winning team, Dairy Stellar Sizzling Spritzers, included Gina Fisher, Jake Mills, Molly Schmitt and Kelli Steinlage. Diana Stewart and Joey Adams were the coaches for Fayette County. The second place senior team was Dubuque County's Under the Influence of Dairy. Team members included Megan Rauen, Emily Neumueller, Josh Simon, Emily Simon, Elizabeth Brehm and Austin Knapp. Shirley Simon was the coach for Dubuque County.

Each year, the Fayette County 4-H Dairy Club presents a traveling trophy to each division winner in memory of Connie Stewart and her daughter Sarah Stewart.

The winning intermediate division team was from Delaware County. Team members included Katelyn Goldsmith, Mindy Burkle, Nick Bagge and Matthew Lansing. Jennifer Zumbach was the Delaware County coach. The second place intermediate team was from Fayette County. Powerhouse Cows team included Mary Scott, Katie Stewart, Ashley Baumler, Sally Hamlett and Nathan Arthur.

Taking top honors in the junior division was the Delaware County team. Members included Tehya Maree Demmer, Amanda Engelken, Haley Fitzpatrick, Matt Hense and Cole Kruse. The second place team in the junior division was from Dubuque County. The team members were Rachael Brehm, Lexie Ehrlich, Julie Hammerand and Amanda Dougherty.

Iowa 4-H Foundation Dairy Endowment provides various awards

The scores of a written exam, team questions and toss-up competition combined to determine the winners of each match in this double elimination event. The Iowa 4-H Foundation Dairy Endowment provided various awards for the event and will provide funding for the senior team's trip to Louisville. Fifty-six youth participated in the quiz bowl: 12 seniors, 22 intermediates and 22 juniors.

Other Placings: Senior third place: Delaware County; Nicole Engelken and James Goldsmith. Intermediate third place: Delaware County; Cassie Burkle, Kari Fitzpatrick, Kaleb Kruse and Glen Comley. Junior third place: Fayette County, Kung Fu Cows; Braeden Baumler, Brylie Volker, Ben Scott, Vanessa Hamlett and Cynthia Hamlett.

Senior Test Results: Austin Knapp, Dubuque County; Jake Mills, Fayette County; Kelli Steinlage, Fayette County; James Goldsmith, Delaware County; Elizabeth Brehm, Dubuque County. Intermediate Test Results: Mary Scott, Fayette County; Glen Comley, Delaware County; Katie Stewart, Fayette County. Junior Test Results: Amanda Engelken, Delaware County;
Amanda Dougherty, Dubuque County; Cynthia Hamlett, Fayette County

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.