is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist
International Corn Group Announces Board

International Corn Group Announces Board

International Maize Alliance announces new board members, website

The International Maize Alliance Tuesday announced the election of its initial Board of Directors and officers. Elected as officers of MAIZALL are Julius Schaaf, United States, President; Sérgio Luis Bortolozzo Brazil, 1st Vice President; Alberto Morelli, Argentina, 2nd Vice President.

MAIZALL is composed of MAIZAR (representing Argentina producers), ABRAMILHO (Brazilian Association of Corn Producers), the National Corn Growers Association and the U.S. Grains Council.

International Maize Alliance announces new board members, website

The organizations in May signed a memorandum of understanding to form an alliance of North and South American corn growers to address key issues concerning food security, biotechnology, stewardship, trade and producer image.

The MAIZALL board of directors is composed of three directors each from Argentina, Brazil, and the United States. The directors are:

Argentina: Alberto Morelli, President, MAIZAR;  Gastón  Fernández  Palma, Vice President, MAIZAR;  Alfredo Paseyro, President, Argentine Seed Association.

Brazil: Sérgio Luis Bortolozzo, Vice-President, ABRAMILHO; Cesário  Ramalho, 1st Secretary, ABRAMILHO; João Carlos Werlang, President, ABRAMILHO. 

United States: Julius Schaaf, Vice-Chairman, U.S. Grains Council; Pam Johnson, President, National Corn Growers Association; and Ron Gray, Secretary-Treasurer, U.S. Grains Council.

MAIZALL also installed three additional designees representing each country and released its public website,, this week.

The website will provide background information on MAIZALL, including the memorandum of understanding between the organizations; its Board of Directors and its major objectives. It will also provide presentations and articles on biotechnology and modern farming practices.

Separately, the website provides access to various resources on food security and global biotech adoption and links to government and non-government organizations.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.