Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: IN

Indiana commodity boards elect 2015 officers

Indiana commodity boards elect 2015 officers
Corn and soybean commodity groups elect new officers for the coming year.

The Indiana Corn Marketing Council Board and the Indiana Soybean Alliance Board recently elected new officer teams for the 2015 year. The respective officer teams will help direct checkoff programs that drive the success of these Indiana commodities.

Dennis Maple of Greentown was re-elected president of the Indiana Corn Marketing Council at its December board of directors meeting. Maple has served on the ICMC board since 2007.

Talking Soybeans: David Lowe, president of Indiana Soybean Alliance, speaks at the announcement of the Purdue University Soybean Center this summer at the Glass Barn as ISA CEO Jane Ade Steven looks on. Photo courtesy of ISA.

Other members elected to the executive committee include: David Gottbrath of Pekin as vice president; Mike Beard of Frankfort as secretary; Dennis Whitsitt of Huntingburg as treasurer; Gerald Gauck of Milan as demand committee chairman; and Ronnie Mohr of Greenfield as supply committee chairman.

ICMC oversees the investment of state corn checkoff funds in programs to strengthen domestic and international demand for corn and corn products. With its 3 year strategic plan, the ICMC board is focusing on five major areas, including ethanol, livestock, grain marketing, new uses and production issues.

"Continuing to seek out new markets for our corn crop – whether that's getting more drivers to use ethanol, growing our livestock industry within our state, or exporting more corn in foreign markets – is our number one priority moving into 2015 as we have a record crop on our hands," Maple said. "Investing corn checkoff dollars in projects that bring value back to each and every corn farmer across the state is our goal as a board."

Indiana Soybean Alliance Board of directors held officer elections in December as well. David Lowe, a Dinkirk, Ind., farmer, was re-elected as president.

Related: Glass Barn A Hit at Indiana State Fair

"I look forward to continuing to work on behalf of Indiana soybean farmers to move our industry forward over the next year," Lowe said. "It is important for us to engage consumers – and farmers – in a conversation about the exciting opportunities soybeans, and ultimately agriculture, brings to all of us."

Other members elected to the executive committee include: Don Wyss of Ossian as vice president; Tom Griffiths of Kendallville as secretary; Shelley McDaniel of Boonville as treasurer; Matt Chapman of Springport as demand committee chairman; Joe Tuholski of Mill Creek as supply committee chairman; Jeanette Merritt of Peru as organizational services committee chairman; and, Josh Kirkpatrick of Veedersburg as membership and policy committee chairman.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.