Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: IL

Illinois, Indiana Youth Win FPS Soil Judging Contest

Illinois, Indiana Youth Win FPS Soil Judging Contest
Soil pits judged at Farm Progress Show with Gibson Southern taking high honors in the Indiana division.

Close year the show is in Decatur, Ill. Meanwhile, Gibson Southern, Gibson County, Ind., took top honors in the Indiana division.

Contestants judged four pits located on the show site, evaluating soils for their properties, and for use as farming and homesites.

In the Illinois division, Calhoun team members included Jordan Friedel, Joey Fester, and Brady Robeen. The second place team from Freeburg FFA consisted of Megan Biesiegal, Trevor Wallerm Austin Theis and Jacob Wiskamp.

Top three individuals in the Illinois contest were Friedel, 1st, Bieseigal, 2nd and Fester, 3rd. The Illinois contestants judged by the rules used in Illinois soil judging events. Both Indiana and Illinois use different systems for judging soils at the FFA level.

The first place Indiana team consisted of Maggie Ritter, Sidney Hirsch, Andrew Zilak and Haley Kissel. Gibson Southern also took second place, with the team of Kyle Scherzer, Logan Rexing, Cort Lamey and Gavikn Kissel.

Top three contestants in the Indiana contest on an individual basis were Ross KIndig, South Newton FFA, Maggie Ritter and Sidney Hirsch.

Monetary awards to the top two teams and top three individuals in each state were presented by Farm Credit Services. Two districts in Illinois and Farm Credit Services of mid-America covering Indiana provided the awards.

Purdue University Extension specialist Gary Steinhart and independent soils consultant Randy Staley, also of Indiana, evaluated the soils. The University of Illinois Extension grade d and facilitated the contest.

Congratulations to the winners.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.