Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: IN

Here's Your Chance to Have Say In Corn Checkoff

Here's Your Chance to Have Say In Corn Checkoff
Time to register for a district or at-large seat on Council.

Anyone who believes they have a better idea about how to run the Indiana Corn Marketing Council and assign the issue of checkoff dollars is welcome to run for either one of three district positions in specific districts, or two at-large positions that cover the entire state. Megan Kuhn, with the Indiana Corn Marketing Council, says petition forms are now available so candidates can begin the process that could lead to their election to the Council.

Here's Your Chance to Have Say In Corn Checkoff

Mike Shuter, Frankton, is currently president of the Council. He says the Council is looking for farmers who have innovative ideas about how to invest corn checkoff dollars, and whom want to be involved in shaping the work and direction of the Indiana Corn Marketing Council.

You have until June 30, 2012, to turn a petition in to become a candidate. You can obtain forms on the Internet, at county Extension offices or by calling 877-267-6444.

Requirements to seek a position include being a corn farmer and a registered voter in Indiana, at least 18 years of age, and residing in the proper district if you're seeking one of the district spots. Anyone who submits a valid petition to the ICMC office by June 30 will be listed on the official election ballot. Voting will occur at county Extension offices in August, Kuhn notes.

Positions are open in three districts: 2, 5 and 8. District 2 includes Carroll, Cass, Elkhart, Fulton, Kosciusko, Marshall, Miami, St. Joseph and Wabash Counties. Find the proper form at:

District 5 includes Bartholomew, Boone, Clinton, Decatur, Grant, Hamilton, Hancock, Hendricks, Howard, Johnson, Madison, Marion, Morgan, Rush, Shelby and Tipton Counties. The form is posted at:

For District 8, counties included are Brown, Crawford, Floyd, Harrison, Jackson, Lawrence, Monroe, Orange, Perry and Washington. The form can be found on the Internet at:

If you want to run for an at-large seat, find the correct form at:   

Remember that petitions must be submitted to the ICMC office by June 30.
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.