Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

Grant, Iowa Counties Top State 4-H Livestock Judging Contest

Grant, Iowa Counties Top State 4-H Livestock Judging Contest
Eighty youth compete in July 25 Contest at Arlington.

Eighty youth competed at the State 4-H Livestock Judging Contest, held on July 25 at the Arlington Public Events Center.  A total of eight senior teams and eight junior teams participated.  The contest consisted of evaluating classes of market and breeding beef, market and breeding swine, market and breeding sheep and Boer goats, as well as answering questions and delivering reasons. These teams qualified for the state contest by being top teams at the district Area Animal Science Days that were held around the state in late June and early July. 

Grant County won the senior division of the State 4-H Livestock Judging Contest July 25 in Arlington. From left are Andrea Patterson, Amber Patterson, Cody Adams and Jake Adams.

The top two teams in the senior division will go on to represent Wisconsin at a National Judging Contest.   A team from Grant County took top honors in the senior division.  Team Members included:  Andrea Patterson, Amber Patterson, Cody Adams and Jake Adams.  They are coached by Dennis Patterson.  The second place senior team was Iowa County.  Team members included:  Megan Thomas, Jacob Yelinek, Reid Suddeth and Angie Keenan.  They are coached by Jeff Thomas. Third place:  Waukesha County, Luke Tremaine, Alexa and Lauren Roscizewski.  Fourth Place:  Shawano County, Aly Dallas, Clint Dalllas, Jed Dallas and Brandon Ramirez.  Fifth Place:  Dodge County, Alexus Butler, Kelly Vierck, Eva Arndt and Christopher Vierck. 

The top ten senior individual judges were: Jessica Radcliffe, Marathon County; Andrea Patterson, Grant County; Megan Thomas, Iowa County; Luke Tremaine, Waukesha County; Alexa Roscizewski, Waukesha County ; Alexus Butler, Dodge County; Aly Dallas, Shawano County; Clint Dallas, Shawano County; Jake Adams, Grant County; and Amber Patterson, Grant County. 

The top reasons team was Dodge County.  Team members include: Alexus Butler, Kelly Vierck, Eva Arndt and Christopher Vierck.  The top five reasons individuals were:  Jessica Radcliffe, Marathon; Alexus Butler, Dodge; Andrea Patterson, Grant; Kelly Vierck, Dodge; and Jared Radcliffe, Marathon. 

The top beef team was Iowa County; top sheep team was Grant County and top swine team was Shawano County. 

The top junior team was from Iowa County.  Team members are: Erica Thomas, Kristin Keenan, Haley Yelinek and Bailey Fritsch and coached by Jeff Thomas. The second place junior team was Waukesha County.  Team members include:  Heidi Tremaine, Hannah Tremaine, Mason Roscizewski and Clarissa Cull.  Third Place:  Manitowoc County:  Brooke Roberts, Vanessa Roberts, Megan Greif, Ambrose Wiering.  Fourth Place:  Iowa County:  Brittany Rhyner, Paige Gaffney, Shawne Judd and Haakon Schriefer.  Fifth Place:  Sauk County:  Austin Schyvinck, Allison Reinecke, Kori Beisbier, Sarah Beisbier.

The top ten junior individual judges:  Erica Thomas, Iowa; Heidi Tremaine, Waukesha; Brooke Roberts, Manitowoc; Mason Roscizewski, Waukesha; Bailey Fritsch, Iowa; Austin Schyvinck, Sauk; Katelyn Schmoll, Marathon; Haley Yelinek, Iowa; August Swenson, Polk;  and Brittany Rhyner, Iowa.

The top sheep team was Sauk County; top swine team was Iowa County; top beef team was Iowa County.  Top Reasons team was Waukesha County.

Sponsors for the State 4-H Livestock contest include:  The Milwaukee Stockyards, Wisconsin 4-H Foundation, Buell Gunderson Memorial, UW-Extension, and UW Animal Science Departments.  Extension Youth Livestock Specialist Bernie O'Rourke, Ron Russell and 4-H Youth Development Specialist Melanie Miller organize the contest annually.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.