is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist
Governor Request Disaster Status For 37 More Counties

Governor Request Disaster Status For 37 More Counties

Approval will put 103 counties in primary disaster status; other 2 will qualify as adjacent counties.

Kansas Gov. Sam Brownback has requested federal disaster declarations for 37 additional counties in Kansas because of drought, extreme heat, high winds and wildfires.

The request includes Atchison, Brown, Chase, Cherokee, Clay, Cloud, Dickinson, Doniphan, Douglas, Ellis, Ellsworth, Franklin, Geary, Jackson, Jefferson, Jewell, Johnson, Leavenworth, Lincoln, Marion, Miami, Mitchell, Morris, Nemaha, Osage, Osborne, Ottawa, Pottawatomie, Republic, Riley, Rush, Russell, Saline, Shawnee, Smith, Wabaunsee and Wyandotte.

DEAD CORN: This field of dryland corn in western Sedgwick County had at least some green before the latest stretch of 100-degree-plus heat arrived. It is now completely dry with no ear formation.

If approved, 103 of Kansas' 105 counties will be considered primary federal disaster areas. Because they border primary counties, Marshall and Washington counties will receive disaster declarations as contiguous counties.

Some areas of the state have received rain from scattered afternoon thunderstorms this week, but rain has been extremely spotty. The 7-day forecast calls for another week of daily highs well above 100 degrees and no rain.

"After touring portions of Kansas this week to see the drought's impact on the Kansas agriculture, it is clear the drought is growing in size and strengthening in severity," Brownback said. "Kansas farmers and ranchers are continuing to feel the devastating impacts of this drought. It is critical that they have access to resources to help cope with production losses caused by the drought."


A disaster declaration will make farmers eligible for USDA disaster assistance programs.

The Governor's request reflects the recommendations of the Kansas State Emergency Board. County Farm Service Agency offices must report at least a 30 percent countywide production loss in a crop in order for a county to be recommended by the board for disaster declaration. If approved by USDA, these 37 counties will be eligible for low-interest emergency loans administered by the Farm Service Agency.

"The entire state of Kansas is feeling the impacts of this drought. From the county boards to Governor Brownback and everyone between, we have and will continue working together to help Kansas farmers and ranchers adapt and recover from this drought," Kansas Secretary of Agriculture Dale Rodman said.

Sixty-six primary counties and 16 contiguous counties were declared federal disaster areas in a July 12 Secretarial fast-track designation.
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.