Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

Geiger Elected National Dairy Shrine President-Elect

Organization adds 440 new members this year.

At the 59th annual meeting of the National Dairy Shrine, Kevin Stiles, senior vice-president of marketing and industry coordination for Midwest Dairy Association of Ankeny, Iowa, was elected president of the organization. Meanwhile, Corey Geiger, associate editor of Hoard's Dairyman of Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, was chosen president-elect. During the past year, the organization also added 440 new members to bring the membership roles to 18,922 members from across the U.S. and Canada.

The National Dairy Shrine board of directors consists of 18 members. This year, six new directors were elected to the board. They included Ken Crandall, Provo, Utah; David Darr, Kansas City, Kan., Stan Erwine, Overland Park, Kan. Maggie Murphy, Belleview, Fla.; Dale Olver, State College, Penn.; and Darrell Pidgeon, Parker, Colo. Reelected for a second three-year term to the board was Richard Clauss, Hilmar, Calif.

During World Dairy Expo, National Dairy Shrine also held a silent auction that consisted of donated artifacts. In all, over $4,700 was raised during that auction to bring the silent auction total to over $35,000 this decade. At the National Dairy Shrine's annual banquet, over $31,000 in scholarships were awarded to 26 outstanding young people.

This year's annual meeting formally concluded Maury Core's tenure as the National Dairy Shrine executive director. To honor his years of service, a scholarship fund has been established in his name. If you are interested in making a donation to the scholarship fund which is being established to grow the organization's scholarship efforts, please call the National Dairy Shrine headquarters at (920) 863-6333 or e-mail [email protected] or go to

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.