is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist
FSA Provides Aid in Drought Area

FSA Provides Aid in Drought Area

Five southwest Missouri counties qualify for Farm Service Agency's Livestock Forage Disaster Program.

Southwest Missouri livestock producers may be eligible for benefits under Missouri Farm Service Agency's Livestock Forage Disaster Program for forage grazing losses incurred during 2011.

For 2011, livestock producers must provide a completed application for payment and required supporting documentation to their administrative FSA county office within 30 calendar days after the end of the calendar year in which the grazing loss occurred.

Five Missouri counties qualify for drought disaster aid.

"LFP provides payments to eligible livestock producers that have suffered livestock grazing losses due to drought," explains Edward Hamill, executive director for Missouri FSA. "Producers must certify they have suffered a grazing loss because of this drought."

Eligible Missouri counties are Barry, Jasper, McDonald, Newton and Stone.

Qualifying drought ratings are determined using the U. S. Drought Monitor located at Eligible livestock under LFP include beef cattle, alpacas, buffalo, beefalo, dairy cattle, deer, elk, emus, equine, goats, llamas, poultry, reindeer, sheep and swine.

To be eligible, the applicant must have purchased insurance coverage through the USDA-FSA Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program (NAP), purchased coverage through FCIC Rainfall Index Policies, or meet the waiver requirements as defined in the Food, Agriculture, Conservation and Trade Act of 1990, Section 2501 (e) (7 U.S.C. 2279(e)) to be a socially disadvantaged, limited resource, or beginning farmer or rancher.

LFP program applicants should note that in addition to the risk management provisions, certain payment limitations and adjusted gross income eligibility requirements must be met in order to qualify for livestock and forage disaster benefits.

For more information about FSA's disaster assistance programs, visit your local County USDA-FSA office, or the website,

TAGS: USDA Livestock
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.