Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: IN

Fourteenth Indiana Ag Leadership Institute Class Begins

Participants make up 'who's who' list of young ag leaders.

Selections have been announced for Class 14 in the most prestigious leadership development program in Indiana. This program is now called the AgrIInstitute, and is led by Beth Archer, executive director. It's a two-year program which requires an in-depth commitment of time and energy to develop leadership skills in agriculture. The two-year program includes 12 seminars, a trip to Washington, D.C. to meet national leaders, and a trip of more than 10 days in a foreign country studying international issues.

Those selected for the class are either nominated by others or apply. The selection process is rigorous. History of this program dates back some three decades to 1984. Since then, Archer notes, nearly 330 participants have graduated from the program.

This newest class begins in earnest with their first session scheduled for July 8 to July 10 this summer. It's an orientation to the process which will lie ahead of the class participants, Archer notes.

Here's the list of new members who will make up this class. See how many of these young leaders you know, or at least recognize their name. Archer's hope is that if you don't know them now, you will within a few years. Based on the past track record, many of the program's graduates hold key positions in farm organizations, Extension, government and business and industry within Indiana.

In alphabetical order: Anthony Aaron, Ice Miller LLP, Carmel; Matthew Bechdol, Federal Land & Natural Resources Business Development, Auburn; Leah Buyer, Indiana Soybean Alliance, Flat Rock; Kyle Bymaster, Director of Development, Purdue College of Ag, New Richmond; Tamara Choat, National Swine Registry, Sheridan; Danna Dolliver, Red Gold, Alexandria; Bradley Farrer, Regions Bank NA, West Lafayette; Ana Hernandez, Perdue Farms, Thorntown; Matthew Hill, Elanco, Fishers.

More include: Raylee Honeycutt, CountryMark, Indianapolis; Greg Janzow, Smith Dairy, Richmond; Marietta Kendall, Farm Service Agency, Washington; Tim Keller, Dow Agro Sciences, Westfield; Bruce Kettler, Beck's Superior Hybrids, Atlanta; Greg Kneubuhler, G & K Concepts, Inc., Harlan; Trenton Linderman, Dow AgroSciences; Tiffany Obrecht, Indiana Farm Bureau, Indianapolis; Donald Ratliff, Maple Leaf Farms, Syracuse; Sarah Simpson, ISDA, Carmel; Thomas Sloma, Farm Credit Services of Mid-America, South Bend; Scott Strickland, Consolidated Grain and Barge, Mount Vernon.

Final class members are: Andy Tauer, IDEM, Monrovia; Kyle Tom, Tom Farms, Warsaw; Kevin Underwood, Underwood Farms, West Lafayette; Walter Valiant, Grain Processing Corporation, Washington; Jennifer Vandeburg, Ivy Tech Community College, Walton; Sarah Weibert, State Bank of Lizton, Indianapolis; Bryan Whistler, Indiana Farm Bureau, Bedford; Eugene Whitehead, Seldom Rest Farms, Muncie; and Lucy Whitehead, National FFA, Indianapolis.

TAGS: Soybeans
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.