Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: IL

Flooded Illinois, Indiana counties eligible for USDA assistance

Flooded Illinois, Indiana counties eligible for USDA assistance
USDA lists counties in Illinois and Indiana as primary disaster areas due to excessive rain and flooding

USDA on Wednesday designated 87 counties in Illinois and 53 counties in Indiana as primary natural disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by excessive rain and flooding.

In Illinois, flooding occurred from June 1, 2015, to present.

USDA lists counties in Illinois and Indiana as primary disaster areas due to excessive rain and flooding

Affected Illinois counties include: Adams, Fulton, Logan, Randolph, Alexander, Gallatin, McDonough, Richland, Bond, Greene, McLean, Rock Island, Brown, Grundy, Macon, St. Clair, Calhoun, Hamilton, Macoupin, Saline, Carroll, Hancock, Madison, Sangamon, Cass, Hardin, Marion, Schuyler, Champaign, Henderson, Marshall, Scott, Clark, Henry, Mason, Stark, Clay, Iroquois, Massac, Tazewell, Clinton, Jackson, Menard, Union, Crawford, Jasper, Mercer, Vermilion, Cumberland, Jefferson, Monroe, Wabash, DeKalb, Jersey, Montgomery, Warren, DeWitt, Johnson, Morgan, Washington, Douglas, Kane, Peoria, Wayne, DuPage, Kankakee, Perry, White, Edwards, Knox, Piatt, Whiteside, Effingham, La Salle, Pike, Will, Fayette, Lawrence, Pope, Williamson, Ford, Lee, Pulaski, Woodford, Franklin, Livingston, and Putnam.

"Our hearts go out to those Illinois farmers and ranchers affected by recent natural disasters," said Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack.

Farmers and ranchers in the following counties in Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky and Missouri also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous: (Indiana) Benton, Knox, Newton, Sullivan, Vigo, Gibson, Lake, Posey, Vermillion and Warren; (Iowa) Clinton, Jackson, Louisa, Scott, Des Moines, Lee, and Muscatine; (Kentucky) Ballard, Crittenden, Livingston, McCracken, Union; (Missouri) Cape Girardeau, Marion, Saint Charles, Clark, Mississippi, Sainte Genevieve, Jefferson, Perry, Saint. Louis, Lewis, Pike, Saint. Louis City, Lincoln, Ralls, and Scott.

In Indiana, flooding occurred from May 1, 2015, to present.

Affected Indiana counties include: Adams, Hendricks, LaPorte, Randolph, Allen, Henry, Madison, Ripley, Bartholomew, Howard, Marion, St. Joseph, Blackford, Huntington, Marshall, Scott, Boone, Jackson, Miami, Starke, Brown, Jasper, Monroe, Sullivan, Cass, Jay, Montgomery, Switzerland, Clay, Jefferson, Newton, Tippecanoe, Dearborn, Jennings, Ohio, Vigo, Delaware, Johnson, Pike, Wabash, Fountain, Knox, Porter, Washington, Gibson, Kosciusko, Pulaski, Wayne, Grant, Lake, Putnam, Wells, and Greene.

Contiguous counties in Indiana also qualify: Benton, DeKalb, Hamilton, Orange, Union, Carroll, Dubois, Hancock, Owen, Vanderburgh, Clark, Elkhart, Harrison, Parke, Vermillion, Clinton, Fayette, Lawrence, Posey, Warren, Crawford, Floyd, Martin, Rush, Warrick, Daviess, Franklin, Morgan, Shelby, White, Decatur, Fulton, Noble, Tipton, and Whitley.

Farmers in the following counties in Illinois, Kentucky, Michigan and Ohio also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous: (Illinois) Clark, Crawford, Iroquois, Lawrence, White, Cook, Edgar, Kankakee, Wabash, Will; (Kentucky) Boone, Carroll, Gallatin, Trimble; (Michigan) Berrien, Cass; (Ohio) Butler, Defiance, Mercer, Preble, Darke, Hamilton, Paulding, and Van Wert.

All counties and city listed above were designated natural disaster areas on Aug. 12, 2015, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency, provided eligibility requirements are met.

Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

Source: USDA

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.