Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Federation of State Beef Councils Elects Officers

Federation of State Beef Councils Elects Officers
Federation selects new chairman, vice chairman and Beef Promotion Operating Committee members

The Federation of State Beef Councils earlier this month set a course of action and elected a new slate of officers for the coming year at the 2014 Cattle Industry Convention.

The Federation, a contractor to the Beef Checkoff Program and national home of state beef councils, is a division of the National Cattlemen's Beef Association.

Cevin Jones, a cattle feeder from Eden, Idaho, was elected Federation chairman; vice chairwoman was Jennifer Houston of Sweetwater, Tenn.

Jennifer Houston, Federation Vice Chairwoman, and Cevin Jones, Federation Chairman

Jones previously served as the Federation's vice chairman. He has also served as chair of the Idaho Beef Council, and as a regional vice president for the NCBA Federation Division. Jones has served on the U.S. Meat Export Federation Board of Directors.

Houston grew up on a cattle and hog farm in West Tennessee. She worked for the U.S. Department of Agriculture in Tennessee prior to joining her husband in a family livestock market operation. Houston was appointed to the newly established Tennessee Beef Industry Council in 1986, and served as the TBIC representative to the National Live Stock and Meat Board, a predecessor organization to NCBA.

As chairman of the Federation, Jones will serve as vice chair of the Beef Promotion Operating Committee, which recommends beef checkoff projects funded at the national level. Houston will also serve on that committee. Approval of BPOC-recommended projects and budgets is required by the Cattlemen's Beef Board and the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

In addition to Jones and Houston, other Federation members of the BPOC for 2014 are Austin Brown III (Texas), Clay Burtrum (Oklahoma), Dawn Caldwell (Nebraska), Teri Carstensen (Iowa), Jerry Effertz (North Dakota), Steve Hanson (Nebraska), Scott McGregor (Iowa) and Irv Petsch (Wyoming). The CBB also appoints 10 members to the BPOC.

Retiring as Federation regional vice presidents at the Convention were Houston (Region II) and Jane Frost of New Mexico (Region VI). Replacing them were Donna Jo Curtis of Alabama and Linda Brake of Arizona, respectively.

Unity and structure
Since 2008 the Federation has worked to increase industry unity and understanding of its structure within the beef checkoff, including its operational ties to NCBA. These ties were created when the National Live Stock and Meat Board – the original home to the Federation – merged with the National Cattlemen's Association in 1996 to form NCBA.

In 2010 the Federation Board of Directors approved a resolution reaffirming its organizational independence and intention to remain under the NCBA umbrella. That resolution was reaffirmed in 2014 in Nashville.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.