Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: OH
Farm Science Review to Induct Hall of Famers

Farm Science Review to Induct Hall of Famers

Donna Brown, David Petritz and Jack Sommers join a prestigious list of Review supporters to make up the 22nd Hall of Fame Class.

The Farm Science Review Hall of Fame will welcome its 22nd class of inductees at the Vice President's Luncheon on September 20. Donna Brown, David Petritz and Jack Sommers have been selected for induction because of their contributions to the success of the Farm Science Review. The Farm Science Review takes place September 20-22 at the Molly Caren Agricultural Center in London, Ohio.

Donna Brown has worked with the Farm Science Review through her involvement with the OSU Extension. Brown was a representative of Family and Consumer Sciences Extension. Starting in the 1980s she began working in the McCormick building giving presentations about human ecology and sharing information with attendees of the show. Brown was also a member of the Farm Science Review Program and Policy Committee where she built strong relationships with everyone involved.

"Donna was the backbone for all Extension programming as she assisted in the preparation for the show," says Chuck Gamble, FSR manager.

David Petritz has made significant contributions to the Farm Science Review through his work with building the partnership between Purdue University and The Ohio State University. Petritz has worked for Purdue for over 30 years. His position as Director of Extension was helpful in putting together this strong, lasting relationship. The Purdue/OSU partnership began in 2004 with the idea that it would help strengthen the already successful program. The partnership has multiple benefits, but one of the most unique and helpful to the program is the ability to tap into research and Extension areas of each university. Purdue's presence also helps bring in crowds from Indiana and eastern Illinois.

"Dave was instrumental in developing a partnership where specialists from both OSU and Purdue could share their expertise at the Review," said Dr. Bobby Moser, Dean of the Ohio State University's College of Food, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences and VP of Agricultural Administration. "Dave is a great guy and a great leader, and he helped start what's become a very successful collaboration."

Jack Sommers has been a farmer his whole life. He still remembers his first FSR experience in September of 1966. He has continued to visit every year since and always enjoys the event. Sommers is not only one of the regular FSR attendees, but has also been a part of the show. For five years he helped with a Research Demonstration Project at the Review. Along with his faithful attendance and demonstration assistance, Sommers served at the Farm Science Review for 30 years in his role as Champaign County Extension Agent.

"Jack's dedicated service to Champaign County farmers and farmers across the state culminated at the Review" says Gamble. "Jack was a key player concerning contemporary OSU Extension programming issues. He was also a personal mentor of mine when I served as the Agricultural/Natural Resources Extension Agent for Logan County."

Brown, Pertritz, and Sommers will join past FSR Hall of Fame recipients, including Mike Adkins, Bill Haddad, Dean Slates, Bob Ziegler, Millie Scheid, Steve Baertsche, Andy Stevens, Dave Kahler, Fred Fisher, Don Myers, Lew Zimmerman, Elizabeth Melick, Doris Utzinger, Herb Ruff, Jack Bardall, James H. Given Jr., Craig Fendrick, William Hanusik, Sam Huber, Sam Bone, Larry Shepherd, Don Pritchard, Carl Lemon, Ray Miller, Larry Vance, Jim and Norma Trotter, Kathleen Smith, Bill Gill, Bill Schnug, Judy and Kelso Wessel, Ed Johnson, Harold Bauman, Jim Caldwell, Naurine McCormick, Francille Firebaugh, Robert Miller, Jim Utzinger, David R. Miskell, Robert L. Eby, C.L. "Lep" Lephart, Dorothy R. Friday, Paul C. Leidheiser, Thomas M. Stockdale, Ted L. Jones, William L. George, Earl W. McMunn, Roland L. Leeper, James W. Yingling, William B. Zipf, Wilbur A. Gould, Shirley A. Brooks-Jones, Marion E. Grimes, Molly Caren Fisher, Novice G. Fawcett, Dale T. Friday, Roy M. Kottman, and Thomas F. Wonderling.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.