Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: East

Farm Bureau Appoints New Young Farmers and Ranchers Committee Members

Farm Bureau Appoints New Young Farmers and Ranchers Committee Members
New members take over committee positions in March

New members have been appointed to the American Farm Bureau Federation's national Young Farmers & Ranchers Committee, for the 2014-2016 term beginning in March. The committee is comprised of 16 positions representing all regions of the U.S.

An individual or a married couple may hold each committee position.

NEW COMMITTEE: New members take over YF

AFBF President Bob Stallman announced the appointment of the following new members to the committee: Miles and Sarah Kuschel, Sebeka, Minn. (beef cattle); Andy and Kasey Clay, Jamestown, Mo. (corn, soybeans and cattle); Aaron and Nicole Banks, Arundel, Maine (quarter horses); Amy and Jon Hegeman, Anniston, Ala. (greenhouses, horse training); Derek Helms, Arkadelphia, Ark. (rice, corn, soybeans and wheat); Danielle and Jacob Larson, Okeechobee, Fla. (row crops, beef and dairy cattle); Sara and Zandon Bray, Redvale, Colo. (cow-calf and yearling operation); and Jason Flowers, Midland, Ore. (small grain crops, hay and cattle).

"It is important to ensure that the future of agriculture is in good hands and I am confident that these individuals are great leaders as they have already given so much back to their communities," said American Farm Bureau Federation President Bob Stallman, in an AFBF statement.

"I look forward to the work they will do on the YF&R Committee as well as watching them become even stronger and more capable leaders for American agriculture."

Committee members are responsible for the YF&R Program planning, which includes the operation of YF&R competitive events during AFBF's Annual Convention, along with planning and implementation of the YF&R Leadership Conference held in February.

National committee members are nominated by their respective state Farm Bureaus. They study farm and food policy issues, participate in leadership training exercises and hone other appropriate professional skills during their tenure as committee members.

Source: AFBF

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.