Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI
Farm Bill Rally Begins Today

Farm Bill Rally Begins Today

Rally in Washington, D.C., aims to generate support for a new farm bill.

The Farm Bill Now! Rally, a product of collaboration between more than 80 consumer, commodity and farm groups starts today on the grounds of the U.S. Capitol.

Rally participants aim to generate interest and support for the passage of a new, five-year farm bill. American Soybean Association President Steve Wellman says the group represents varying policy priorities, but is united in supporting the new legislation.

Rally in Washington, D.C., aims to generate support for a new farm bill.

"ASA and its coalition partners may differ on many of the individual aspects in various titles of the farm bill, but more important than that is our commitment first and foremost to getting a bill done," Wellman said. "We will work with farmers, with our partner organizations, and with our representatives in Washington to get this job finished in the interest of providing America's farmers with the security and certainty they need."

National Farmers Union President and rally emcee, Roger Johnson, echoed Wellman's comments, and said the rally is a testament of commitment to a policy change. He said he was hopeful that the rally would ensure that a unified message could be heard.

American Farm Bureau President Bob Stallman will join Johnson as emcee.

The "Farm Bill Now!" rally will also feature members from the U.S. Senate and U.S. House of Representatives addressing the crowd, as well as leaders from a broad range of farm, conservation, energy, consumer and nutrition organizations.

Legislative members slated to speak at the rally include Sen. Debbie Stabenow, D-Mich., chairwoman of the Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry Committee; Sen. Jerry Moran, R-Kan.; Rep. Collin Peterson, D-Minn., ranking member of the Committee on Agriculture; and Rep. Kristi Noem, R-S.D.

Organizational speakers in addition to Wellman, Johnson and Stallman will include Fred Yoder, representative of 25x'25; Daren Coppock, president and CEO of Agricultural Retailers Association; Ambassador Tony P. Hall, executive director of Alliance to End Hunger; Jon Scholl, president of American Farmland Trust; Gene Schmidt, president of National Association of Conservation Districts; Bing Von Bergen, first vice president of National Association of Wheat Growers; an elected county official representing National Association of Counties; Sally Greenberg, executive director of National Consumers League; Garry Niemeyer, president of National Corn Growers Association; Ken Nobis, president of Michigan Milk Producers Association; and Robert Guenther, senior vice president of public policy.

For more information, visit

TAGS: Soybean
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.