is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: MO
Exploring Ag Production In The 21st Century

Exploring Ag Production In The 21st Century

Agriculture Secretary Vilsack appoints Missourian to Advisory Committee on Biotechnology and 21st Century Agriculture.

Paul Anderson, executive director of international programs, Donald Danforth Plant Science Center, St. Louis, has been appointed to the Advisory Committee on Biotechnology and 21st Century Agriculture, or AC21.

U.S. Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack reactivated the advisory committee and made the appointments last week. "This advisory committee will come together to continue investigating the challenges of coexistence among different forms of agricultural production," Vilsack said. "I hope this committee will recommend workable solutions that will enhance the ability of all farmers to grow the crops they want in order to effectively meet the needs of their customers."

The AC21 is composed of 22 members from 16 states. The members represent the biotechnology industry, the organic food industry, farming communities, the seed industry, food manufacturers, state government, consumer and community development groups, the medical profession, and academic researchers. Agricultural producers on the advisory committee include Lynn Clarkson, farmer and president, Clarkson Grain Company, Cerro Gordo, Ill.; Leon Corzine, who farms near Assumption, Ill.; and Darrin Ihnen, farmer and chair of the National Corn Growers Association, Hurley, S.D.

Appointees will initially serve one or two-year terms, and may be reappointed to serve up to six consecutive years. Russell Redding, Interim Dean of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences, Delaware Valley College, Aspers, Penn., will serve as chair of the AC21.

Source: USDA Office of Communications

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.